Magnavox 557, 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575 - Page 879 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #26341 of 26358 Old 03-22-2015, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSUL View Post
Why did WalMart stop stocking these dvrs?
After all our group input to Funi, have they ceased making them after the 557?
I'm not sure Funai mfgd the 557, with its radical departure from Funai's long-standing +VR recording system and 1,2,2-1/2,3,4,6 rec modes, etc. Funai had a falling-out with Philips a couple of years ago but its also unknown how that affected their DVDR design/mfg partnership. ("Magnavox" is a Philips brand name licensed to Funai in the past.)

Amazon has been advertising that more 557's are coming in "4-6 weeks" then "2-4 weeks" so it appears they expect more units... it would be "embarrassing" if they were taking orders and nothing showed up to ship.

We live in mysterious times?

PHILIPS HD DVRs | *MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*If you're logged in, links will only work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.

Last edited by wajo; 03-22-2015 at 02:17 PM.
wajo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26342 of 26358 Old 03-22-2015, 02:58 PM
Newbie
 
pw2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Have been reading the forum for years and would like to thank all the people that have posted so much useful information.

I have been using the Philips/Magnavox machines since they first came out and now my wife uses all "my machines".

Since we purchased several MDR-557 machines, one problem I have not been to solve is not having any index pic thumbnails
on burned dvd's once they have been finalized.

Is this a result of Magnavox design changes or are we using the machine incorrectly?

Thanks in advance for your help..

pw2009
pw2009 is offline  
post #26343 of 26358 Old 03-24-2015, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
CJayB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Mission Hills, CA
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by peacedog View Post
Make sure to update us when you receive the new unit please? Thanks.
Good news. The 557 is back in stock at Àmazon. I now have delivery date of Friday March 27th.
CJayB is offline  
post #26344 of 26358 Old 03-25-2015, 04:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
greaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Waaay back ~6-7 years ago i recorded a few books on CD i got from my local library.The recordings were done on a Philips 3576 in the SLP mode.I didn't connect the video,just the audio,partly as an experiment to see if i could get more than 6 hrs.on the disc due to the lack of any video being recorded to disc.I figured 'why not'..w/o video there (theoretically) should be more available space....NOT....I think my experiment is still buried somewhere in wajo's help file.

Yesterday i started recording another book on CD.This time using a Maggie 515,again using the SLP mode w/audio only.But this time the result was diff.This time i got 6:39.01 on the disc ...maybe a diff.between machines?? ....the only other diff.i know of is the brand of disk...TY vs Verbatim....both are 8x-r discs.weird....and the recordings from 6-7 yrs.ago still play well.

Last edited by greaser; 03-25-2015 at 05:04 PM. Reason: correct mistake
greaser is offline  
post #26345 of 26358 Old 03-25-2015, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrmazda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA's lightning capital.
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by greaser View Post
Waaay back ~6-7 years ago i recorded a few books on CD i got from my local library.The recordings were done on a Philips 3576 in the SLP mode.I didn't connect the video,just the audio,partly as an experiment to see if i could get more than 6 hrs.on the disc due to the lack of any video being recorded to disc.I figured 'why not'..w/o video there (theoretically) should be more available space....NOT...
SLP is about maximally compressing the original program. Compression effectiveness depends in part on the program source. Brighter more contrasty and/or more dynamic programs have more detail, so can be compressed more because there is more information to start with. The flip side of that is darker less contrasty less active programs require less space originally, so are able to be compressed less because of that relative lack of detail in the first place. A black "program" doesn't have any detail to speak of, and no dynamicism, so can't significantly benefit from attempts to maximally compress.

Genuine HD via ATSC and BUD satellite DVB.
Team OS/2 ** Reg. Linux User #211409
mrmazda is online now  
post #26346 of 26358 Old 03-25-2015, 05:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
greaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
SLP is about maximally compressing the original program. Compression effectiveness depends in part on the program source.
Program source is another diff.The old transfers were from disc to disc....the new recording is streamed from YT.
Could it be that there's just less info.from the stream vs.disc,thus allowing for a(substantially)longer record time?
Someone else around here(can't remember who) postulated something very similar to this.It's a possible explanation.
Problem is....a lack of video input should(theoretically at least) produce the same effect,but didn't with the old recordings...so i don't know.

I don't really expect an answer...this is one of those weird things that's more like voodoo than science...

Last edited by greaser; 03-25-2015 at 07:35 PM.
greaser is offline  
post #26347 of 26358 Old 03-25-2015, 10:07 PM
Member
 
garyjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amazon just advised my 2 557's are scheduled for delivery on 3/30/15 and 3/31/15.


Quote:
Originally Posted by CJayB View Post
Good news. The 557 is back in stock at Àmazon. I now have delivery date of Friday March 27th.
garyjo is offline  
post #26348 of 26358 Old 03-26-2015, 03:33 AM
Newbie
 
SnidelyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
delivery date for 557

April 1 is my scheduled delivery date. You don,t suppose this is just an April Fools thing
SnidelyW is offline  
post #26349 of 26358 Old 03-26-2015, 10:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Anybody know what disc recording error E6 is all about. The user manual wasn't very helpful.
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #26350 of 26358 Old 03-26-2015, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post
Anybody know what disc recording error E6 is all about. The user manual wasn't very helpful.
E6 is a "nondescript" error, as listed in this help file.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | *MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*If you're logged in, links will only work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #26351 of 26358 Old 03-26-2015, 09:44 PM
Newbie
 
F_R_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My MDR557H (which I just ordered from Amazon on March 22) is currently scheduled to be delivered between April 15 and April 22.
F_R_S is offline  
post #26352 of 26358 Old 03-27-2015, 07:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
CJayB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Mission Hills, CA
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by F_R_S View Post
My MDR557H (which I just ordered from Amazon on March 22) is currently scheduled to be delivered between April 15 and April 22.
My 557 was originally scheduled to arrive between April 1st and the 19th, but is currently out for delivery some time today. Amazon usually beats their expected delivery dates for backordered items. I think they deliberately do that to make themselves look better by exceeding customer expectations.

My 557 has arrived. Manufacture date is Jan 2015. Looks like Walmart now has them in stock online and Home Depot getting them in the next 10 days or so.

Last edited by CJayB; 03-27-2015 at 02:58 PM.
CJayB is offline  
post #26353 of 26358 Unread 03-28-2015, 07:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJayB View Post
...My 557 has arrived. Manufacture date is Jan 2015. Looks like Walmart now has them in stock online and Home Depot getting them in the next 10 days or so.
Based on this post, I checked out Wall-Mart using this search-

http://www.walmart.com/search/?query...DVD%20recorder

Oddly enough, about two thirds down the page, the 557 shows up TWICE, first under the Magnavox brand name, the second time under the Funai brand name. Also, the price is $8 higher on the Funai one, and it seems it's actually being sold by a third party.

Neither is currently available online, but if you click on the Magnavox one, checking how soon you can get one seems to suggest less than a week in my area. Maybe they're just about to be "in stock" again?
gastrof is offline  
post #26354 of 26358 Unread Yesterday, 06:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NE OH
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hi all - I need to ask for some more advice.

I took an offer from TWC that included a Cisco STB so I can now record scrambled channels like BBCA on my 515 using the "free" on-demand. I also picked up a Slingbox 350 on a 1-day $70 deal. I have everything working but not sure if my setup could be improved.

Cable is split to the Cisco and the 515 with pass-through to TV.
515-to-TV is HDMI.
Cisco-to-Slingbox is component.
Slingbox-to-515 is composite.
Edit> Forgot - Cisco-to-TV is HDMI

Cisco unfortunately has no S-video out. And the Cisco composite out doesn't seem to work with HDMI and/or component outs in use - hence the Slingbox output.

Most recording is unattended from raw cable split, and that seems somewhat better quality than the on-demand through Slingbox composite.

One possibility is to run the full cable into the 515, then split the pass-through to TV and Cisco, but that still leaves me with a composite source for on-demand recording.

When I got the Slingbox I thought I would be able to record its stream on a PC, but haven't been able to figure out any way to do that.

Any suggestions?


Also, on-demand programs sometimes have an HD choice. With this setup, would you expect better results choosing the HD version? So far I'm not seeing much if any difference in the recording quality...

Thanks...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???

Last edited by cc_in_oh; Today at 04:05 AM.
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #26355 of 26358 Unread Yesterday, 07:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrmazda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA's lightning capital.
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
the Cisco composite out doesn't seem to work with HDMI and/or component outs in use - hence the Slingbox output.
It sounds like this setup includes only one TV. Temporarily connect a second TV to the composite and/or component out with the Cisco's HDMI still connected to the original TV. If composite/component light up on TV2 while watching normal HDMI output on TV1, all you need is a way to fake the Cisco into thinking HDMI is in actual use, which it isn't if using only one TV and its composite or component input is selected. You might be able to do same with a PIP TV instead of 2 TVs. I managed the required fake-out for a Bright House Samsung cable box using a 1-in, 2-out HDMI splitter. This enabled the other HDMI out from the splitter to feed a HDMI to composite converter, which gave the 515 a full 16:9 image from 16:9 programs instead of the double-boxing that the Samsung provides on composite out.

Genuine HD via ATSC and BUD satellite DVB.
Team OS/2 ** Reg. Linux User #211409
mrmazda is online now  
post #26356 of 26358 Unread Yesterday, 07:47 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question

Is Magnavox going to continue to make these units? I still have a Toshiba recorder with a digital tuner that is working fine, but if the Magnavox is no longer going to be available in the near future, I will purchase one now.


ckth1043 is offline  
post #26357 of 26358 Unread Today, 04:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NE OH
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
It sounds like this setup includes only one TV. Temporarily connect a second TV to the composite and/or component out with the Cisco's HDMI still connected to the original TV. If composite/component light up on TV2 while watching normal HDMI output on TV1, all you need is a way to fake the Cisco into thinking HDMI is in actual use, which it isn't if using only one TV and its composite or component input is selected. You might be able to do same with a PIP TV instead of 2 TVs. I managed the required fake-out for a Bright House Samsung cable box using a 1-in, 2-out HDMI splitter. This enabled the other HDMI out from the splitter to feed a HDMI to composite converter, which gave the 515 a full 16:9 image from 16:9 programs instead of the double-boxing that the Samsung provides on composite out.
I edited to add Cisco-to-TV on HDMI in my OP.

Hmm - I think I get what you mean - when I tried the Cisco-to-515 composite, I had to switch the TV to the 515 HDMI input to see if it worked, so Cisco HDMI would not have been in use? I don't have another TV but a HDMI monitor should suffice to try your suggestion - or couldn't I just switch the TV to the Cisco HDMI while recording something over the Cisco composite?

Anyway, thanks for the feedback...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #26358 of 26358 Unread Today, 07:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,919
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 824 Post(s)
Liked: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
When I got the Slingbox I thought I would be able to record its stream on a PC, but haven't been able to figure out any way to do that.
If you want to record to the PC with this setup, buy a Hauppauge HD-PVR with component pass-through so you can insert it between the Cisco STB and the Slingbox. You can then record whatever comes out of the STB's component outputs on your PC -- even if HD -- and it will still travel through to the Slingbox so you can record it on the DVDR's composite input for time-shifting. The HD-PVR/PC will give you the best quality. Composite output to a DVD recorder will never match the quality of a recording from the native digital tuner. Look on the Hauppauge website for more information.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Magnavox Mdr515h 500gb Hdd And Dvd R With Digital Tuner
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off