Magnavox 557, 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575 - Page 883 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #26461 of 26477 Unread 05-29-2015, 01:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
New 557 or used 535/537?

I have had an mdr535 for a couple years. I use the hdd almost every day mostly for time-shifting, from which I occasionally burn dvds. I haven't had any problems with it and I am looking to buy a second unit. I note from previous posts here that there are apparently significant differences between my 535 and the latest 557 model. Do those differences (some of which I do not fully understand) reduce the basic functionality of the unit? Is the new model "cheaped down" in any sense? Should I buy a new 557, or would I have better luck with a used or refurbed 535/537 on Ebay?

Also, is there a way to transfer contents of the hdd to an external hdd? (I don't mean removing and replacing the internal drive, I mean plugging in a cable and pressing buttons, as you would with a PC.)
newbie2015 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26462 of 26477 Unread 05-29-2015, 02:24 PM - Thread Starter
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by newbie2015 View Post
I have had an mdr535 for a couple years. I use the hdd almost every day mostly for time-shifting, from which I occasionally burn dvds. I haven't had any problems with it and I am looking to buy a second unit. I note from previous posts here that there are apparently significant differences between my 535 and the latest 557 model. Do those differences (some of which I do not fully understand) reduce the basic functionality of the unit? Is the new model "cheaped down" in any sense? Should I buy a new 557, or would I have better luck with a used or refurbed 535/537 on Ebay?

Also, is there a way to transfer contents of the hdd to an external hdd? (I don't mean removing and replacing the internal drive, I mean plugging in a cable and pressing buttons, as you would with a PC.)
The major differences are pretty significant to a user of the previous gens of the Mag units, esp. if that user often uses and interchanges unfinalized DVDs made in another Mag unit. The recording systems are different so it would be like using a Panasonic DVDR is an established Mag system. The 557 does have some new features that could be useful to any user, like ability to work with "virtual" titles rather than the real title, thus preserving the original intact, and Combining titles using that "virtual" system.

For transferring titles between Mag units, here's a help file with some suggestions.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | *MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*If you're logged in, links will only work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.

Last edited by wajo; 05-31-2015 at 05:52 AM.
wajo is offline  
post #26463 of 26477 Unread 05-29-2015, 03:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrmazda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA's lightning capital.
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
Hopefully you can get the cable connected again before auto channel preset passes DTV 20...
One could inject an RF A/B switch to use as an on/off switch, facilitating quick "reconnecting" of the cable at the appropriate time.
Ken.F likes this.

Genuine HD via ATSC and BUD satellite DVB.
Team OS/2 ** Reg. Linux User #211409
mrmazda is offline  
post #26464 of 26477 Unread Yesterday, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
wintertime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just made a tactical error: my old Sony HDD/DVD stopped working, so I ordered a new Magnavox from Walmart, and it's on its way. Then I got to wondering whether, like the Sony, the Magnavox lets you set different control codes for different units. Oops, no, it doesn't. As always, Wajo was right there with information! So now I'm exploring my options...

Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post

1. KLUGE (Kapturer of Latent User Guidance Energy)

Add a KLUGE over the sensor window of non-target unit(s).
I don't see any explanation of the goal of this option. If you just want to block the sensor window, why not use electrical tape? Is this supposed to block IR coming from a certain direction, and then you aim over or under it to control that particular DVR? Or is the idea that you have these on both DVRs and you get up and move one into position and one out of position each time you want to control the other DVR? Fortunately, I'll be using one DVR much more than the other, so if I do have to do this, it won't be the end of the world.

I also read about the NextGen RF controller and searched through the thread for comments from anyone who had tried it for this purpose (getting around the issue of having two Funai units). The closest I found was one posting about making sure that the IR sensor was covered. But it would already be covered by the IR attachment to the RF receiver, right?
wintertime is online now  
post #26465 of 26477 Unread Yesterday, 01:07 PM
ALP
Member
 
ALP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by wintertime View Post
I just made a tactical error: my old Sony HDD/DVD stopped working, so I ordered a new Magnavox from Walmart, and it's on its way. Then I got to wondering whether, like the Sony, the Magnavox lets you set different control codes for different units. Oops, no, it doesn't. As always, Wajo was right there with information! So now I'm exploring my options...



I don't see any explanation of the goal of this option. If you just want to block the sensor window, why not use electrical tape? Is this supposed to block IR coming from a certain direction, and then you aim over or under it to control that particular DVR? Or is the idea that you have these on both DVRs and you get up and move one into position and one out of position each time you want to control the other DVR? Fortunately, I'll be using one DVR much more than the other, so if I do have to do this, it won't be the end of the world.

I also read about the NextGen RF controller and searched through the thread for comments from anyone who had tried it for this purpose (getting around the issue of having two Funai units). The closest I found was one posting about making sure that the IR sensor was covered. But it would already be covered by the IR attachment to the RF receiver, right?
The kluge works great for my setup. I have three Maggie DVR's in my main video system each sets on its own shelf. I have to halves of an old black VCR cassette cover that I can use to block any two of them while I program, edit, delete, etc on any given DVR of the three. Its simple, it cost me nothing and it works.

Tony Plachy
ALP is offline  
post #26466 of 26477 Unread Yesterday, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,192
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by wintertime View Post
I just made a tactical error: my old Sony HDD/DVD stopped working, so I ordered a new Magnavox from Walmart, and it's on its way. Then I got to wondering whether, like the Sony, the Magnavox lets you set different control codes for different units. Oops, no, it doesn't. As always, Wajo was right there with information! So now I'm exploring my options...



I don't see any explanation of the goal of this option. If you just want to block the sensor window, why not use electrical tape? Is this supposed to block IR coming from a certain direction, and then you aim over or under it to control that particular DVR? Or is the idea that you have these on both DVRs and you get up and move one into position and one out of position each time you want to control the other DVR? Fortunately, I'll be using one DVR much more than the other, so if I do have to do this, it won't be the end of the world.

I also read about the NextGen RF controller and searched through the thread for comments from anyone who had tried it for this purpose (getting around the issue of having two Funai units). The closest I found was one posting about making sure that the IR sensor was covered. But it would already be covered by the IR attachment to the RF receiver, right?
Your problem has been worked on since the beginning of two unit owners. Blocking the IR sensor when I had a 2160A and 515H was done by packing cardboard from something painted flat black on both sides and cut to size. Since the tray open button will turn on the Magnavox you need to plan for that. Even now I have two Blu-ray players and two TiVos in front of me. The Blu-ray gets the cardboard, the TiVo has device codes for their remotes to handle this issue. I'm not a Universal Remote person, so that's not a problem for me. Good luck.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #26467 of 26477 Unread Yesterday, 01:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NE OH
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by wintertime View Post
I just made a tactical error: my old Sony HDD/DVD stopped working, so I ordered a new Magnavox from Walmart, and it's on its way. Then I got to wondering whether, like the Sony, the Magnavox lets you set different control codes for different units. Oops, no, it doesn't. As always, Wajo was right there with information! So now I'm exploring my options...



I don't see any explanation of the goal of this option. If you just want to block the sensor window, why not use electrical tape? Is this supposed to block IR coming from a certain direction, and then you aim over or under it to control that particular DVR? Or is the idea that you have these on both DVRs and you get up and move one into position and one out of position each time you want to control the other DVR? Fortunately, I'll be using one DVR much more than the other, so if I do have to do this, it won't be the end of the world.

I also read about the NextGen RF controller and searched through the thread for comments from anyone who had tried it for this purpose (getting around the issue of having two Funai units). The closest I found was one posting about making sure that the IR sensor was covered. But it would already be covered by the IR attachment to the RF receiver, right?
Reminds me that I'm lucky to have my old 3576 and 2160A still going strong attached to an old tube TV for programming, recording, editing and dubbing (using the same Philips replacement remote no less, which has already far outlasted either of the original remotes)...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #26468 of 26477 Unread Yesterday, 03:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,425
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1212 Post(s)
Liked: 626
Panasonic recorders and BD/DVD players are all addressable, so never any remote conflicts. Food for thought.
mdavej is offline  
post #26469 of 26477 Unread Yesterday, 04:44 PM
Member
 
garyjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amazon CS confirmed the Mag 557 - while available 2 hours ago - is no longer available. CS advised they cannot even take an order for future delivery. A quick review of their product page (url below) shows it is only available from third party sellers. Is a new model about to be introduced?
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Last edited by garyjo; Yesterday at 05:44 PM. Reason: additional info from Amazon CS mgr
garyjo is offline  
post #26470 of 26477 Unread Yesterday, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
wintertime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Tony, was one of my three guesses correct? Perhaps the one about moving the blocks depending on which unit you want the IR signal to hit?


Patty
wintertime is online now  
post #26471 of 26477 Unread Yesterday, 06:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrmazda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA's lightning capital.
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by wintertime View Post
the one about moving the blocks depending on which unit you want the IR signal to hit
I have 3 or 4 Mags in a stack. I cut my blocks approximately 4"X6" out of two sides of cardboard ice tea bag boxes, which gives them a nearly natural fold. The short fold hangs across the Mag's display panel, while the long fold lays on top of the Mag for gravity to keep the short fold blocking the IR receiver. I paint the cardboard black. To make getting them in and out of position easier, each Mag's feet have been hoisted a bit using thin adhesive feet from home depot, which allows access to a bit of extra cooling air in between each in the stack. When the stack is only 3 high, I lay the extra on the top at the side of one of the remaining 3.

Genuine HD via ATSC and BUD satellite DVB.
Team OS/2 ** Reg. Linux User #211409
mrmazda is offline  
post #26472 of 26477 Unread Today, 07:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Panasonic recorders and BD/DVD players are all addressable, so never any remote conflicts. Food for thought.
Does Panasonic make a HardDrive/DVD recorder like the ones this forum is dedicated to?

If not, the point is sort of moot.
gastrof is offline  
post #26473 of 26477 Unread Today, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by wintertime View Post
...I got to wondering whether, like the Sony, the Magnavox lets you set different control codes for different units. Oops, no, it doesn't...
Hi, Wintertime.

I currently have two of these recorders together in one room, and am using an "infra-red to RF converter" for the second machine.

For starters, you replace one of the two remote batteries with a special one that includes some type of transmitter that can sense the Infra-Red pulses from the remote, and transmit a radio signal that somehow carries the same information.

It's received by another unit that can convert that info back into Infra-Red and either produce those invisible pulses itself, or relay them by a corded Infra-Red emitter.

I have the main IR emitter on the receiver unit all covered with black electrical tape. The corded IR emitter is plugged in, and its emitter end is taped to the front of one of my recorders right over the recorder's IR receiver (where the clock display is).

The recorder's clock display is also covered with black electrical tape, so it's blind to everything except what the emitter cable is producing.

I've also covered the front of the remote with black tape so its IR emissions can't "escape".

This, in short, means the remote can only transmit an RF signal, not IR. The receiver unit can't transmit any IR light itself, and it's corded emitter's IR light can only be seen by the machine its taped to (since that emitter is also then covered by tape).

My other machine sees nothing from the "taped" machine's remote, and the "taped" machine can't see the remote of the other machine.

This works flawlessly, until the remotes special rechargeable battery starts getting weak, at which time you just switch batteries. (The base unit is also a battery charger.)

[The only downside is the taped machine has its clock display covered. Big deal. The other machine is right beneath it.]

The gadget does have the brand name you mentioned, "Next Generation", and I'll see if I can find a link to the same one I bought-

Edit:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ilpage_o04_s00
artisticimaging likes this.

Last edited by gastrof; Today at 07:27 AM.
gastrof is offline  
post #26474 of 26477 Unread Today, 10:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,425
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1212 Post(s)
Liked: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by gastrof View Post
Does Panasonic make a HardDrive/DVD recorder like the ones this forum is dedicated to?

If not, the point is sort of moot.
Is that a trick question? They don't currently make one for the US market, but they have in the past. I used to have several, basically any model with "H" in it.

EDIT: Also wanted to vouch for the Next Gen RF system posted earlier. Excellent product. I've used them in the past with great results.

Last edited by mdavej; Today at 12:09 PM.
mdavej is offline  
post #26475 of 26477 Unread Today, 11:31 AM
Senior Member
 
wintertime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gastrof View Post
Hi, Wintertime.
Hi, Gastrof!


Quote:
I currently have two of these recorders together in one room, and am using an "infra-red to RF converter" for the second machine.

I have the main IR emitter on the receiver unit all covered with black electrical tape. The corded IR emitter is plugged in, and its emitter end is taped to the front of one of my recorders right over the recorder's IR receiver (where the clock display is).
When you say that "the corded IR emitter is plugged in," do you mean to the DVR, or to a power source?


Quote:
The recorder's clock display is also covered with black electrical tape, so it's blind to everything except what the emitter cable is producing.
Why would you need to cover the DVR's clock display?


Quote:
I've also covered the front of the remote with black tape so its IR emissions can't "escape".
Great idea! That also instantly tells you which Magnavox remote goes with which DVR.


Quote:
This works flawlessly, until the remotes special rechargeable battery starts getting weak, at which time you just switch batteries. (The base unit is also a battery charger.)
I assume that once the provided special batteries stop recharging, you have to order new ones from NextGen?


Thanks for the link. They cost less than I thought I had read.

This would be more convenient than having to keep moving pieces of paper or plastic every time I wanted to switch machines, which I think is what some other forum members are doing. Thanks for the information!
wintertime is online now  
post #26476 of 26477 Unread Today, 12:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 11,195
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1009 Post(s)
Liked: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Is that a trick question? They don't currently make one for the US market, but they have in the past.
None with a digital tuner.

The EH55 was the last of the era and unfortunately 100% analog.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #26477 of 26477 Unread Today, 12:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,425
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1212 Post(s)
Liked: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
None with a digital tuner.

The EH55 was the last of the era and unfortunately 100% analog.
In that case, why not use a $30 iView? It tunes/records clear QAM and ATSC to an external HDD. No remote conflicts. Burn DVDs as needed on a PC. Problem solved. I can't think of a good reason to have multiple, expensive, identical DVD recorders when your goal is VCR replacement. Seems like just one for the stuff you want to keep forever and cheap iView and Homeworx boxes for the rest would be the easiest and cheapest solution (outside of a PC based system of course, in which case you could have unlimited tuners all using the same box for doing recordings and DVD backups).
mdavej is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Magnavox Mdr515h 500gb Hdd And Dvd R With Digital Tuner
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off