Magnavox 557, 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575 - Page 886 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #26551 of 26569 Old 06-25-2015, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'm hesitant to buy something that's "used" but not "refubished". Why did they sell it?

By the way...

The place a lot of us got cables from at one point... What's the name of that website? I'm drawing a total blank.

I'm about to do an internet search for "cables" and see what comes up.

EDIT:
Duh. Monoprice.


Last edited by gastrof; 06-25-2015 at 12:05 PM.
gastrof is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26552 of 26569 Old 06-25-2015, 12:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrmazda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA's lightning capital.
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by gastrof View Post
The place a lot of us got cables from at one point... What's the name of that website? I'm drawing a total blank. I'm about to do an internet search for "cables" and see what comes up.
EDIT: Duh. Monoprice.
I started to order some cables and things from there night before last, but as I added little things to cart, shipping was piling up steeply, $18 cheapest method to ship <2 lbs. of stuff costing $24. I spent 2 hrs. trying to find a way to get cart to $50 for free shipping, but couldn't. Does it have some trick to get a reasonable shipping rate on a bundle of small items?

Genuine HD via ATSC and BUD satellite DVB.
Team OS/2 ** Reg. Linux User #211409
mrmazda is offline  
post #26553 of 26569 Old 06-25-2015, 01:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 11,323
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1084 Post(s)
Liked: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
Does it have some trick to get a reasonable shipping rate on a bundle of small items?
Yes. Don't order direct from Monoprice.

Go to Amazon.com and search "monoprice cables" from all departments. Nearly all of the items are Prime eligible or free-shipping over $35. Many cables have the option of ordering from Monoprice through Amazon with free shipping. I know it's crazy, but when in Rome . . .
ClearToLand likes this.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #26554 of 26569 Old 06-25-2015, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,283
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
I started to order some cables and things from there night before last, but as I added little things to cart, shipping was piling up steeply, $18 cheapest method to ship <2 lbs. of stuff costing $24. I spent 2 hrs. trying to find a way to get cart to $50 for free shipping, but couldn't. Does it have some trick to get a reasonable shipping rate on a bundle of small items?
I wish. Monoprice has a lot of good features, but they seem to overprice the shipping for everything. I get daily spam from them, and some of the deals are good, but there must be a reason they are no longer a sponsor on the forum. They can still be found on DSLReports and the TiVo forums.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #26555 of 26569 Old 06-25-2015, 06:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrmazda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA's lightning capital.
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I decided to add an HDMI cable tester to my order, which more than doubled the total and pushed it over $50. After clicking the free shipping button, it recalculated what shipping for 4 lb. would have been to $9.92, less than 2/3 what it had estimated for half as many items.

Genuine HD via ATSC and BUD satellite DVB.
Team OS/2 ** Reg. Linux User #211409
mrmazda is offline  
post #26556 of 26569 Old 06-25-2015, 07:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,788
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
I decided to add an HDMI cable tester to my order, which more than doubled the total and pushed it over $50. After clicking the free shipping button, it recalculated what shipping for 4 lb. would have been to $9.92, less than 2/3 what it had estimated for half as many items.
That's a handy tool. I have the RJ-45 version of that tester.
Ken.F is offline  
post #26557 of 26569 Old 06-26-2015, 07:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NE OH
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
That's a handy tool. I have the RJ-45 version of that tester.
Does that tester tell you what speed the cable can handle? The only long cables I have are old and homemade - it would be nice to know if they can handle at least 100 mbps...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #26558 of 26569 Old 06-26-2015, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,788
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
Does that tester tell you what speed the cable can handle? The only long cables I have are old and homemade - it would be nice to know if they can handle at least 100 mbps...
It doesn't test speed capability but it does test continuity, shorts, and for correct pin order in the terminators. If the cable passes those tests it's most likely fine for it's rated speed.

http://www.howtogeek.com/70494/what-...-should-i-use/
Ken.F is offline  
post #26559 of 26569 Old 06-26-2015, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NE OH
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
It doesn't test speed capability but it does test continuity, shorts, and for correct pin order in the terminators. If the cable passes those tests it's most likely fine for it's rated speed.

http://www.howtogeek.com/70494/what-...-should-i-use/
Thanks - these were sloppily made with too much untwisting so I'm not sure if I can rely on the cable rating. I suppose I could probably find a piece of software to check connection speed...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #26560 of 26569 Old 06-26-2015, 08:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrmazda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA's lightning capital.
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
I suppose I could probably find a piece of software to check connection speed...
I don't know if all switches do, but my 8 port D-Link and Trendnet gigabit switches report negotiated speed via the colors of the LEDs.

Genuine HD via ATSC and BUD satellite DVB.
Team OS/2 ** Reg. Linux User #211409
mrmazda is offline  
post #26561 of 26569 Old 06-26-2015, 10:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NE OH
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
I don't know if all switches do, but my 8 port D-Link and Trendnet gigabit switches report negotiated speed via the colors of the LEDs.
Actually I remembered that I had one a while back when troubleshooting a TP-Link AC1200 adapter. It wasn't much good for that as it was telling me 867mbps whether my file transfer speeds were 5 MB/sec or 30 MB/sec...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #26562 of 26569 Old 06-26-2015, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,283
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
Actually I remembered that I had one a while back when troubleshooting a TP-Link AC1200 adapter. It wasn't much good for that as it was telling me 867mbps whether my file transfer speeds were 5 MB/sec or 30 MB/sec...
I know what you mean. My Realtek 8812 has the same link speed. With Win 8.1 you can use Task Manager to see the actual speed if a PC is the source or destination. Win 7 makes you do the math.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #26563 of 26569 Old 06-26-2015, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NE OH
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
I know what you mean. My Realtek 8812 has the same link speed. With Win 8.1 you can use Task Manager to see the actual speed if a PC is the source or destination. Win 7 makes you do the math.
Yeah this is on Win7. I received the Win10 upgrade icon - need to do some research to decide on it. I wish they included Vista - I'd put it on my old laptop to try it out...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #26564 of 26569 Old 06-27-2015, 01:59 PM
Member
 
mickboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle Area In Soggy Washington State
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Now, on Saturday their down to only 7 left on Amazon.
Boy that didn't take long!
Mickboy

"We Never Really Got It On Until Detroit"
M.Jagger 1969
mickboy is offline  
post #26565 of 26569 Old 06-27-2015, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 7,283
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
Yeah this is on Win7. I received the Win10 upgrade icon - need to do some research to decide on it. I wish they included Vista - I'd put it on my old laptop to try it out...
We're off the rails here, but kill KB3035583. Google it.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #26566 of 26569 Old 06-28-2015, 10:41 AM - Thread Starter
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 149


Walmart has a new page for Refurbished Mag 557, $259.98.

Page for NEW 557's is out of stock.


PHILIPS HD DVRs | *MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*If you're logged in, links will only work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.

Last edited by wajo; 06-28-2015 at 11:07 AM.
wajo is offline  
post #26567 of 26569 Old 06-29-2015, 02:01 PM
Member
 
mickboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle Area In Soggy Washington State
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post


Walmart has a new page for Refurbished Mag 557, $259.98.

Page for NEW 557's is out of stock.

Congrats to those who hopped on that deal! Didn't even last the weekend.
Mickboy

"We Never Really Got It On Until Detroit"
M.Jagger 1969
mickboy is offline  
post #26568 of 26569 Old Yesterday, 05:45 AM
Member
 
peacedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJayB View Post
Good news. The 557 is back in stock at Àmazon. I now have delivery date of Friday March 27th.
Just a thread update, I just got an email that the 557 is back in stock at Home Depot. I looked it up and it has a very reasonable price of $278.
peacedog is offline  
post #26569 of 26569 Old Today, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
DanHuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Near NORAD in Colorado Springs
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by peacedog View Post
Just a thread update, I just got an email that the 557 is back in stock at Home Depot. I looked it up and it has a very reasonable price of $278.

Holy crap. Home Depot now sells DVD Recorders??

Pick one up w/ your mulch!
DanHuff is online now  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Magnavox Mdr515h 500gb Hdd And Dvd R With Digital Tuner
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off