Magnavox 557, 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575 - Page 890 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #26671 of 26683 Unread 07-27-2015, 01:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok. When I get to the rec mode select portion of dubbing the option for high is blanked out. All I can do on the dub is LP, EP, SLP, or AUTO. Th original recording is done in SP. I don't understand why HIGH, HQ, and SP are blanked out and not available for the dub. What am I missing?
num1cboysfn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26672 of 26683 Unread 07-27-2015, 02:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 10,276
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Possibly your title is to large to fit on your DVD?
jjeff is online now  
post #26673 of 26683 Unread 07-27-2015, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by num1cboysfn View Post
Ok. When I get to the rec mode select portion of dubbing the option for high is blanked out. All I can do on the dub is LP, EP, SLP, or AUTO. Th original recording is done in SP. I don't understand why HIGH, HQ, and SP are blanked out and not available for the dub. What am I missing?
It's all explained, in several ways, in the links I gave a few posts back.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | *MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*If you're logged in, links will only work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
post #26674 of 26683 Unread 07-27-2015, 03:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post
It's all explained, in several ways, in the links I gave a few posts back.
I'll read them again. I've gone thru them over and over step by step so I don't know what I could be missing. Perhaps jjeff is correct and the title is too long. I guess I've just been using the Panasonics too long too change my thought process.
num1cboysfn is offline  
post #26675 of 26683 Unread 07-27-2015, 03:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
Possibly your title is to large to fit on your DVD?
Thanks. Maybe in my haste and frustration I overlooked that. Hard to teach an old dog new tricks.
num1cboysfn is offline  
post #26676 of 26683 Unread Yesterday, 10:01 AM
Member
 
orrin1933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sparks, Nevada
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All,

I have a '513' which works very well for OTA recording. Recently, however, I changed the TV from a 37" Vizio 'E' series to a 39" 'D' series. Both are 720P.

Now the HDMI setting on the '513' does not stay at 720P! Many times when it is turned on it reverts to 480P with an anamorphic picture. It's no problem for me to touch the HDMI button, but my wife has trouble finding the right button!

The '513' is set to 16:9 with the Progressive Scan off. The CEC is disabled on both the TV and the '513'.

Is there anything I missed? Actually the settings are the same as with the older TV and the HDMI stayed at 720P with that unit.

Orrin - Engineer/Photographer/Webmaster
orrin1933 is offline  
post #26677 of 26683 Unread Yesterday, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,874
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 687 Post(s)
Liked: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by orrin1933 View Post
Hello All,

I have a '513' which works very well for OTA recording. Recently, however, I changed the TV from a 37" Vizio 'E' series to a 39" 'D' series. Both are 720P.

Now the HDMI setting on the '513' does not stay at 720P! Many times when it is turned on it reverts to 480P with an anamorphic picture. It's no problem for me to touch the HDMI button, but my wife has trouble finding the right button!

The '513' is set to 16:9 with the Progressive Scan off. The CEC is disabled on both the TV and the '513'.

Is there anything I missed? Actually the settings are the same as with the older TV and the HDMI stayed at 720P with that unit.
Maybe the new TV doesn't keep the HDMI port active when the set is turned off. If the Magnavox gets turned on before the TV is on, the Maggie won't be able to tell what HDMI modes the TV can display so it sets the HDMI mode to 480. Try turning the TV on before turning the Magnavox on, and turn the Magnavox off before turning the TV off. If doing that makes the HDMI mode stick, check the TV settings menu for power saving options and see what happens if you disable them.
Ken.F is offline  
post #26678 of 26683 Unread Yesterday, 10:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 11,393
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1129 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by orrin1933 View Post
I have a '513' which works very well for OTA recording. Recently, however, I changed the TV from a 37" Vizio 'E' series to a 39" 'D' series. Both are 720P.

Now the HDMI setting on the '513' does not stay at 720P! Many times when it is turned on it reverts to 480P with an anamorphic picture. It's no problem for me to touch the HDMI button, but my wife has trouble finding the right button!

The '513' is set to 16:9 with the Progressive Scan off. The CEC is disabled on both the TV and the '513'.

Is there anything I missed? Actually the settings are the same as with the older TV and the HDMI stayed at 720P with that unit.
It doesn't matter. The TV will upscale anything it is sent to match its screen resolution. The scaler in the TV is probably better than the scaler in the DVD recorder so let the recorder send out the native 480 signal to the TV and let the TV do the upconversion to 720p to fit its screen.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine


Last edited by Kelson; Today at 07:21 AM.
Kelson is offline  
post #26679 of 26683 Unread Yesterday, 06:36 PM
Member
 
orrin1933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sparks, Nevada
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
It doesn't matter. The TV will upscale anything it is sent to match its screen resolution. The scaler in the TV is probably better than the scaler in the DVD recorder so let the recorder send out the native 420 signal to the TV and let the TV do the upconversion to 720p to fit its screen.
The TV does not upconvert to fill the screen! The 480P is a 4:3 presentation with the image compressed horizontally (anamorthic).

Orrin - Engineer/Photographer/Webmaster
orrin1933 is offline  
post #26680 of 26683 Unread Yesterday, 06:40 PM
Member
 
orrin1933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sparks, Nevada
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
Maybe the new TV doesn't keep the HDMI port active when the set is turned off. If the Magnavox gets turned on before the TV is on, the Maggie won't be able to tell what HDMI modes the TV can display so it sets the HDMI mode to 480. Try turning the TV on before turning the Magnavox on, and turn the Magnavox off before turning the TV off. If doing that makes the HDMI mode stick, check the TV settings menu for power saving options and see what happens if you disable them.
Good idea, but not too practical since the maggy goes on and off by itself while making timer recordings.

Orrin - Engineer/Photographer/Webmaster
orrin1933 is offline  
post #26681 of 26683 Unread Today, 03:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,874
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 687 Post(s)
Liked: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by orrin1933 View Post
Good idea, but not too practical since the maggy goes on and off by itself while making timer recordings.
I think you didn't read my entire reply.
Ken.F is offline  
post #26682 of 26683 Unread Today, 06:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
JimLely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by orrin1933 View Post
The TV does not upconvert to fill the screen! The 480P is a 4:3 presentation with the image compressed horizontally (anamorthic).
But the TV will indeed upscale the Maggie's input to the TV's native resolution
JimLely is online now  
post #26683 of 26683 Unread Today, 07:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 11,393
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1129 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by orrin1933 View Post
The TV does not upconvert to fill the screen! The 480P is a 4:3 presentation with the image compressed horizontally (anamorthic).
Cycle the TV's picture format with the zoom button on the remote until you get to the proper setting to display 16:9 as 16:9.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Magnavox Mdr515h 500gb Hdd And Dvd R With Digital Tuner
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off