Magnavox 557, 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575 - Page 912 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 135Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #27331 of 27334 Old 08-22-2016, 09:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
INFO: TDS cable in Alamogordo, NM has been warning customers for several months about losing analog service, but did not begin to drop channels until July (at least for what we watch/record with Mag 557). About half are now gone from lineup, I expect the remaining ones to go before long. Anyway, TDS offered settop box(es) for free for the first six months, with 3.50/month fee thereafter. We have been experimenting with the box, provided to TDS by "Evolution Digital", which has one analog (ch 3-4) out and one HDMI out. It is quite small, about 5" x 5" x 1", powered with external wall wart. According to the book the remote has both IR and RF link, because it refers to setting up the remote to control a box which does not have line of sight. We have not tried the RF link, since the boxes are not in the same room. So far we are able to run the TV on the HDMI out and the Mag 557 on the Ch3 analog out simultaneously (with both receiving the same channel, of course). I was surprised because the instructions indicated only one output could be used at a time, as some have indicated on the forum for other cable providers. We may end up using both boxes where the main TV is, to watch one channel whilst recording another when all analog goes away so the RF control capability will be handy for that.
rich3881 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27332 of 27334 Old 08-23-2016, 05:08 AM
Member
 
rrgg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post
rrgg, the 53x series don't have easily replaceable fuses (they switched to soldered in that series), so I emailed Funai Service to see if they can be of any help. Might know something tomorrow or ??? (I have an old link in my help files, so I'm also testing that link.)
OK. So you think it's more likely a fuse than power supply?

I haven't unscrewed the DVR case, but I wonder if I can visibly tell whether the fuse is burnt out. (Haven't done any soldering in many years but would up for it if that does the trick.) Thanks.
rrgg is offline  
post #27333 of 27334 Old Yesterday, 11:46 AM
Member
 
thisischris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone. I have another issue with my 513 that has been ongoing. I resolved the problem that I posted about before but this is different. I'm looking to sell the unit but I think there's something wrong with it. Whenever it is unplugged or the power goes out, it acts like it's dead. And I've tried the tips that were posted and have managed to get it working. But every time it loses power, it does the same thing. Once I'm able to get power to it, it takes a few minutes pressing the power button. Then when I try to record on the hdd I get an error message. I was able to fix that with setting up a timer recording and have it power off and then back on. But I have to do this every time it loses power. When it works, it works good but unfortunately it's unpredictable. Is there something wrong with the machine? Do I need to junk it? If anyone here can help me I'd really appreciate it. Thanks.
thisischris is online now  
post #27334 of 27334 Old Today, 09:34 AM
Member
 
orrin1933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sparks, Nevada
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by thisischris View Post
Hey everyone. I have another issue with my 513 that has been ongoing. I resolved the problem that I posted about before but this is different. I'm looking to sell the unit but I think there's something wrong with it. Whenever it is unplugged or the power goes out, it acts like it's dead. And I've tried the tips that were posted and have managed to get it working. But every time it loses power, it does the same thing. Once I'm able to get power to it, it takes a few minutes pressing the power button. Then when I try to record on the hdd I get an error message. I was able to fix that with setting up a timer recording and have it power off and then back on. But I have to do this every time it loses power. When it works, it works good but unfortunately it's unpredictable. Is there something wrong with the machine? Do I need to junk it? If anyone here can help me I'd really appreciate it. Thanks.
An APC UPS (power supply) solved similar problems for me!

Orrin - Engineer/Photographer/Webmaster
orrin1933 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Magnavox Mdr515h 500gb Hdd And Dvd R With Digital Tuner
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off