Magnavox 557, 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575 - Page 923 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 169Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #27661 of 27664 Old Today, 03:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 691 Post(s)
Liked: 213
I don't understand why anyone is fishing for a user to say something against the rules. It doesn't matter what he IS doing as long as what he does say is within guidelines.
DoctorM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #27662 of 27664 Old Today, 05:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Delta Quadrant
Posts: 2,264
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 996 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by dare2be View Post
So, how is that different than logging on and launching a stream manually from a Roku or some other device and recording from there? I don't see the difference.
Apparently the Roku outputs "encrypted" HDMI that can only be legally decrypted by a TV? It makes no sense to me - I wonder if it's ever been tested in court?

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is offline  
post #27663 of 27664 Old Today, 06:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
Apparently the Roku outputs "encrypted" HDMI that can only be legally decrypted by a TV? It makes no sense to me - I wonder if it's ever been tested in court?
My Roku 4 is connected to my Pioneer receiver with no problems. The problem is in trying to record the Roku output. Their is no recorder that has hdmi input, except maybe some black market Asian import.
rdgcss is offline  
 
post #27664 of 27664 Old Today, 07:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 691 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Am I the only one that thinks this has gone off topic? These devices ONLY record in standard definition, regardless of input used.
Even if you used an RF Modulator for $1000 to feed the signal to the HD antenna input, it's still recorded in SD.

As far as I know that falls under the safe harbor of analog sunset.
I suggest starting a new thread to discuss methods for capturing and recording in HD... and getting in trouble with mods there.
DoctorM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Tags
Magnavox Mdr515h 500gb Hdd And Dvd R With Digital Tuner
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off