Which Video Stabilizer should I buy? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 106 Old 04-11-2008, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
westgate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ʇuoɯɹ
Posts: 5,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=Cardano;13616871]I just posted this in a new thread before I noticed this thread. I searched under dp5000 etc., but this thread didn't turn up.


I will test it on both copy-protected VHS tapes and DVDs to see who well it works.

In checking the site to see if they were still available I found this:

http://www.world-import.com/macrovisionkiller.htm

I don't know whether they're just out of stock or what. I haven't checked to see whether other suppliers of similar devices are also no longer selling them.
--------------------------------------------------------------end quote]

the movie studio lawyers must have caught up with them!

westgate is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 106 Old 04-12-2008, 09:53 AM
Member
 
boxtop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check this out -- the only source for the new model I readily found:

http://thegodmachinexxx.com/video-copying-equipment.htm

More expensive than the DP-5000, but perhaps its new and enhanced features make it worth the extra money...? I tend to buy the most advanced versions of anything, because I use stuff until it disintegrates or becomes grossly obsolite.
boxtop is offline  
post #33 of 106 Old 04-12-2008, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,927
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I have the CT-2 (which looks just like the CT-200 pictured). It copies anything I have tried, but don't have a BR to try that. Personally I haven't read one way or the other about the Simas and BR. The more expensive one in your link specifically did mention BR though.
Note when I've tried copying a resolution test pattern and contrast test pattern with my CT-2 it did reduce contrast and resolution a slight bit, although I have not noticed a problem actually copying a movie.
I think my CT-2 was $100 back when BB sold them and I consider mine one of my better investments.
jjeff is offline  
post #34 of 106 Old 04-12-2008, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,927
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I just got my Heartland America catalog and I see they have the Sima CT-200 for quite a bit cheaper than your link. If interested here's a link. $79.99 + shipping's not bad.
I've ordered from them and their just fine. Actually I usually just go to their headquarters in Chaska MN and skip the shipping, but then I have to pay tax. I think I've seen these for much more on fleabay. They do say closeout so I don't know how long they'll have them.
http://www.heartlandamerica.com/brow...80AE2&DL=HWN4#

edit:I just checked my link and it looks like it's "out of stock". I'll leave the link up for now in case it comes back in stock. If it doesn't I remove the link.
edit:still out of stock but it's still on the site, maybe it will come back??
jjeff is offline  
post #35 of 106 Old 04-12-2008, 08:33 PM
Member
 
cyberfly502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxtop View Post

You guys who received the DPX-7000: Please post your impressions/results. Thanks!

There was no mention of anyone having the Firebird-Systems Archiever unit. Is (was!) the DP-5000 superior?

I will let you know how the DPX-7000 works as soon as I have a chance to test it. Probably next weekend.

Its kind of nice to know I got the newest version when I ordered the DP-5000 (and paid the price for the DP-5000, and not the newer, higher price).
cyberfly502 is offline  
post #36 of 106 Old 04-13-2008, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oliverjg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have seen the dpx-7000 in use.

the one i had access to created some noise in the signal. the noise is most noticeable in the dark scenes.

i checked all the cable connections and the noise is definitely being caused by the dpx-7000.
oliverjg is offline  
post #37 of 106 Old 04-14-2008, 09:48 AM
Senior Member
 
DanHuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Near NORAD in Colorado Springs
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tested my new DPX-7000 this weekend and it worked like a champ.

The DVD I was trying to dub would be dark (but still somewhat viewable) when the signal was fed to my VCR. When I hooked up the DPX-7000 between the DVD player and VCR the picture was then crystal clear! Made my backup and can't wait to use it again.

An e-mail from World Imports states that the DPX-7000 is the newest version of the 5000 and has updated firmwear. Good luck if you can find one now I guess.

I'm impressed with the unit so far. The best deal now may be the CT-200's at Heartland America. You better hurry!
DanHuff is offline  
post #38 of 106 Old 04-17-2008, 01:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kucharsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, CO
Posts: 3,956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Am I missing something such that people don't just buy a reasonably good TBC like the DataVideo TBC-1000 instead of the latest wacky copy box?
kucharsk is online now  
post #39 of 106 Old 04-17-2008, 07:44 AM
Senior Member
 
DanHuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Near NORAD in Colorado Springs
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm really going out on a limb here, but.......maybe price??

The other units we are talking about here do the same thing as well as the DataVideo TBC-1000 and are about 1/3 of the cost.

I dunno, maybe that's it!
DanHuff is offline  
post #40 of 106 Old 04-17-2008, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,927
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Maybe size of the unit? My 4 year old Sima CT-2 has never failed to copy anything I've tried (don't have a BR though) and is the size of a pack of cigarettes. I'm going to guess TBC's are quite a bit larger and also pricier. My Sima's cost between $50-100, depending on rebates going on at the time. No idea of what a TBC goes for, but I'm sure quite a bit more.
jjeff is offline  
post #41 of 106 Old 04-18-2008, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CitiBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucharsk View Post

Am I missing something such that people don't just buy a reasonably good TBC like the DataVideo TBC-1000 instead of the latest wacky copy box?

Primarily price sensitivity. Last year, the new retail and subsequent second-hand prices of the DataVideo TBC-1000 and the AVT-8710 skyrocketed to the neighborhood of $350-500, which is a little much. Especially for the AVT, which for all the world I'll swear is nothing more than a souped-up Sima CT-200 with proc-amp controls. Before all the lawsuits drove them out of Best Buy and Circuit City, the Sima CT-200 and similar units sold for $50-90 new while the aforementioned full TBCs ran about $250. Unless you really needed a full TBC to handle obscure encoding issues, the Simas did just as well for most TV display issues.

Now that they've disappeared from stores, the Sima-style units are fetching sometimes $150-200 *used* on eBay. At that price level, you might as well add $125 and get the TBC-1000 or AVT-8710. They are "new-school" TBCs that can cope with CGMS and MV, output better video than simple stabilizers, and in the case of the DataVideo are sturdy enough to last a lifetime (the AVT is rather fragile but does have a somewhat sharper picture.) The price on Sima CT-200 at Heartland is currently the deal of the century: drop everything and click there now if you need one. The CT-200 is almost always a better option than the many generic versions sold on the net- why play games if you can get the real thing at a good price?

Avoid "old-school" used pro TBCs for sale on eBay: they look attractive, but they pre-date CGMS and sometimes even MV. While technically they should be able to clear those signals up, in practice enough sometimes bleeds thru that you still have visible problems on your display. Plus they're large units that run very hot and have really noisy fans.
CitiBear is offline  
post #42 of 106 Old 04-20-2008, 07:07 PM
Member
 
cyberfly502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally got around to testing the DPX-7000. It worked beautifully. It handled copy protection without a problem. I played around with the picture adjustments but I found normal to be the best. (personal preference I guess)

Bottom line, it worked as advertised.
cyberfly502 is offline  
post #43 of 106 Old 04-20-2008, 07:11 PM
Newbie
 
JoeyNikam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you sure this DP-5000 copy device works as advertised? I tried a $99 thing that looked like a toy bought from ebay and it was like crap!
JoeyNikam is offline  
post #44 of 106 Old 04-20-2008, 07:18 PM
Newbie
 
JoeyNikam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it work for HBO as they claim??
JoeyNikam is offline  
post #45 of 106 Old 04-21-2008, 01:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Yes.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #46 of 106 Old 05-24-2008, 07:49 PM
Member
 
alb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it ok leaving the DP-5000 on 24/7 ?
alb2 is offline  
post #47 of 106 Old 05-24-2008, 07:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
westgate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ʇuoɯɹ
Posts: 5,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alb2 View Post

Is it ok leaving the DP-5000 on 24/7 ?

i wouldnt. y ask 4 trouble.
ive been using sima ct2s for last 3+ yrs and shut 'em off when done.
westgate is offline  
post #48 of 106 Old 05-25-2008, 05:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
crabboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Henderson, Nevada
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by alb2 View Post

Is it ok leaving the DP-5000 on 24/7 ?

I think I burned out a CT-200 that way.

In space, no one can eat ice cream - Killer Klowns From Outer Space
crabboy is offline  
post #49 of 106 Old 05-25-2008, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,927
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 99
My CT-2 gets rather warm if left on for any length of time. I unplug the brick xformer when not in use. I don't really care for too many vampires on my power lines. OTOH I think my father left his on for a year before I told him it uses extra power, then he unplugged it. It's still working today.
jjeff is offline  
post #50 of 106 Old 05-27-2008, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried a Sima on Blu-Ray yet? Thanks.
Bill1313 is offline  
post #51 of 106 Old 05-27-2008, 11:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ti-triodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Damfino
Posts: 2,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill1313 View Post

Has anyone tried a Sima on Blu-Ray yet? Thanks.


My Sima wouldn't even work well on DVD's. Blu's advanced DRM is probably well beyond it's capabilities.
ti-triodes is offline  
post #52 of 106 Old 05-28-2008, 05:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Logic Design's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If you are using Components, S-Video or Composite analog outputs out of the Blu-Ray player, the Video Filter works fine and allows you to set the Copy Generation as well as Widescren Signaling flags.
Logic Design is offline  
post #53 of 106 Old 05-28-2008, 05:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Logic Design View Post

If you are using Components, S-Video or Composite analog outputs out of the Blu-Ray player, the Video Filter works fine and allows you to set the Copy Generation as well as Widescren Signaling flags.

Could you please post a link to your video filter again - thanks.
nextoo is offline  
post #54 of 106 Old 05-28-2008, 07:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Logic Design's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
nextoo, I sent you a private message with the link to the Video Filter.
Logic Design is offline  
post #55 of 106 Old 06-04-2008, 05:38 PM
ked
Member
 
ked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got a page to order the DP5000 from World-Import.com. Will keep you posted if it works. here is the link I used Can't post yet I don't have enough posts. Hi nextoo great advice on the dvd recorders.
ked is offline  
post #56 of 106 Old 06-05-2008, 03:36 PM
ked
Member
 
ked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a call today to confirm order. Should get it in about 5-9 days. If anyone wants the link PM me.
ked is offline  
post #57 of 106 Old 06-05-2008, 03:54 PM
Senior Member
 
DanHuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Near NORAD in Colorado Springs
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ked-

You will get the DPX-7000 which is an upgraded (firmwear) version of the 5000.

Mine works like a charm, though I have not used it on a blu-ray player yet.
DanHuff is offline  
post #58 of 106 Old 06-10-2008, 03:17 PM
ked
Member
 
ked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I should get it this week. I will let you know which version I get. I'm planning on dubbing my video collection to my Polaroid DVD recorder. Will let you know how things go then. Hopefully this weekend.
ked is offline  
post #59 of 106 Old 06-13-2008, 08:50 AM
ked
Member
 
ked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got it today. DanHuff you are right and it is a DPX-7000. Can't wait to hook it up this weekend and try it out. Here is the link if anyone wants it www.world-import.com/dp-x7000.htm
ked is offline  
post #60 of 106 Old 08-16-2008, 10:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Oiler1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like the DPX-7000 is the way to go. I think I can still order it from World Import. Basically I want to record premium movie channels on my Toshiba DVR. Sometimes I can only record once but can't off load it to a DVD other times I can't record at all.

I still have an old macro buster so I wonder if that will work before I consider buying one?

Are there any others people can recommend?
Oiler1 is offline  
Reply DVD Recorders (Standard Def)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off