Samsung HT-BD2 7.1 HTIB - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 03-12-2008, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Colin215213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone seen the Samsung HT-BD2 system in stores yet? If not, any word on a release date for the US?
Colin215213 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 03-12-2008, 05:26 PM
Member
 
atfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've looked weekly and the only US place I've found is Fry's online (outpost.com). It's listed there as the "HT-BD2T", and it says it's available. Other than than, nothing.
atfree is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 09-28-2008, 01:08 PM
Member
 
help_me_please's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i saw it on sale at big box stores in canada for 1k
anyone have any feedback on this greak looking monster?
help_me_please is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 10-15-2008, 11:11 PM
Member
 
Showmak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw it and played with it a bit... It looks enermouse with 1100 RMS, the PQ & SQ are just great... As some reviews on the net, they complain about disk loading time, few connections, only support of profile 1.0 and the price...

Features
1-disc DVD
HDMI output for inclusion of other
digital devices
HDMI-CEC function allows all
products in the system to discover
and communicate with each other.
High power: 1100W rms digital
amplifiers
CD/CD-R/CD-RW/DVD/DVD-R/DVD-RW
Multimedia disc playback
Dimmer

DVD video
Progressive Scan Video allows
superior non-interlaced images to be sent
to the latest Digital Television receivers.
The smooth, progressive scan image
eliminates even the slightest hint of blur
or distortion, bringing new realism to DVD
Movies and DVD video selections.
NTSC
Audio
Sound mode: EQ/DSP (7 mode)
Dolby Digital, Dolby Pro-Logic II,
Dolby Pro-Logic lix, Dolby Digital EX,
DTS decoders, DTS ES Discrete 6.1,
DTS 96/24 and DTS Neo 6

Tuner
FM tuner
Preset memory:
30
Convenience
Universal 56 key remote control
Specifications
Total power output: 1100W rms
(135W x 7 +155W)
Speaker type
Tallboy + Satellite
Impedance:
(satellite/woofer) 4Ω/4Ω
Terminals
Component video out: 1
Composite video out: 1
HDMI out: 1
Audio in: aux1
Optical in: 2
Net dimensions & weight (WxHxD)
Dimensions:
17.32" x 3.43" x 15.59"
Weight: 70.11 lbs.
Shipping dimensions (WxHxD)
Dimensions: 55.39" x 23.82" x 18.39"
Weight: 132.8 lbs.

IMO, it's a great BD HT...
Showmak is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 10-17-2008, 03:58 AM
Member
 
help_me_please's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Showmak View Post

Sound mode: EQ/DSP (7 mode)
Dolby Digital, Dolby Pro-Logic II,
Dolby Pro-Logic lix, Dolby Digital EX,
DTS decoders, DTS ES Discrete 6.1,
DTS 96/24 and DTS Neo 6

does this mean it does not play dts hd and dolby hd?
basically it's just a htib equipped with a blue-ray player for the video but not the audio abilities of a blue-ray?
help_me_please is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 02-05-2009, 04:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
generallee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Geneva, Fl
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Saw it at Sam's for $948. the demo sounded good but then I am no expert but seems like it needs HDMI IN for DTV and also for other HDMI devices with HDMI output
generallee is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 05-12-2009, 01:01 PM
Member
 
Cicada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Indian Wells, CA
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
they've got it at some Sams' now for less than $500

Might pick it up.
Cicada is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 05-16-2009, 04:46 PM
Senior Member
 
SleeperSupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Showmak View Post

It looks enermouse with 1100 RMS,

Total power output: 1100W rms
(135W x 7 +155W)

LOL...

I am sure the marketing person that came up with the RMS power rating has a bridge he would love to sell you...
SleeperSupra is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 06-14-2009, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 111
I've Owned the HT-BD2T since the summer of 2008. Blu-rays look fantastic, and sound amazing. The reciever puts 7.1 chanells and has "earth-shaking" bass. The only downside is its not 1.1 or 2.0 compatiable for Blu-rays. I have the latest firmware and I NEVER had a problem playing any Blu-ray titles (except for Mad Men Season Two, that was fixed with Firmware 1.6). I get great Dolby Digital sound from Directv HD, the Xbox 360 Elite and of course DVDs.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 12-21-2009, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 111
My powered sub-woofer went out due to wear or a power surge, not sure. Anyway I ordered a repalcemnet sub, identical to the broken one. I also set the older one out for repairs. The new sub arrived just as good if not better than the last.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 01-06-2010, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 111
My older Subwoofer was repaired and I bought a Y-splitter for the subwoofer output and now have Two Subwoofers. Now the Ht-bd2t is 7.2 surround, dual subwoofers. The bass is way more solid and tuneful.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 04-03-2011, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 111
I had a few disc glitches with fw 1.8 (Mad Men Season 1) and went back to 1.6 (fixed Problem), I may try 1.7 and see if its more stable. I also had a few glitches with The Ultimate Matrix and Predator Ultimate Hunter Edition before 1.8.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 04-03-2011, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 111
I tried fw 1.7 and it had the same errors. So I went back to fw 1.6 -now I noticed its glitchy too.

So I tried 1.7 and then 1.8 again. Now fw 1.8 works without glitches......This is crazy.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 07-05-2011, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 111
This unit had a Anynet+ (HDMI-CEC) glitch that caused electromagnetic interference twice, a year and a half apart.

This Anynet+ glitched caused the unit to try to constantly load a disc (even when one was not inserted).

A Hard Rest fixed this, holding the Stop Button when off for about 10 seconds.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 09-04-2012, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 111
I noticed fw 1.9 caused different channel errors/static..so I rolled back to fw 1.8.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 05-30-2013, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 111
I went back to Firmware 1.9...looks like no new firmware from Samsung...
PiratesCove is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 05-30-2013, 06:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Really? Your responding to yourself after almost a year later (in which you responded to yourself from the previous year).
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 06-01-2013, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

Really? Your responding to yourself after almost a year later (in which you responded to yourself from the previous year).

Exactly, its called keeping a record...rolleyes.gif Ha, Ha...

Now I'm responding to ??? confused.gif
PiratesCove is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 06-01-2013, 10:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiratesCove View Post

Exactly, its called keeping a record...rolleyes.gif Ha, Ha...

Now I'm responding to ??? confused.gif

This could get confusing real fast wink.gif
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 10-26-2013, 06:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

This could get confusing real fast wink.gif

Possibly.... I updated to fw. ver. 2.0 today.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 10-26-2013, 10:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 229
How's it working?
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 10-27-2013, 05:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

How's it working?

Quite well for an older system, thank you.

I'm just surprised Samsung is still offering a yearly firmware update.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 10-27-2013, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 229
That's good to hear.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Reply Home Theater In A Box

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off