Cable extension for Sony HT-CT100? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 05-10-2008, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
joeykoolaids's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got my HT-CT100 from SonyStyle and it sounds great.

The problem is the cable that feeds the sound bar is to short. My TV is wall mounted and that is the plan for the bar. The sub will only be about 5 ft. to the right of the bar, but there is a doorway in between. My plan was to go up, into the attic, and drop it back down.

With the 10 ft supplied I would only need to extend it another 10ft or so. Sony support said that it is not recommended and had no such extension. I can find 10' DB9 M/M cables (I think that is the connection I will need), but I'm not sure how they will transport the signal.

Any advice is appreciated......thanks
joeykoolaids is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-03-2009, 05:49 PM
Member
 
deadsexy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump!

I have the exact same question 8 months later lol
deadsexy is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-03-2009, 06:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
da1writer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeykoolaids View Post

I just got my HT-CT100 from SonyStyle and it sounds great.

The problem is the cable that feeds the sound bar is to short. My TV is wall mounted and that is the plan for the bar. The sub will only be about 5 ft. to the right of the bar, but there is a doorway in between. My plan was to go up, into the attic, and drop it back down.

With the 10 ft supplied I would only need to extend it another 10ft or so. Sony support said that it is not recommended and had no such extension. I can find 10' DB9 M/M cables (I think that is the connection I will need), but I'm not sure how they will transport the signal.

Any advice is appreciated......thanks

You can extended it by grabbing a 9-pin serial cable.

http://reviews.cnet.com/9602-12576_7...&tag=mncol;txt

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

PSN- da1writer
My Sony CT-100 Settings (& PS3 Settings) *UPDATED 1/10/09*
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...7#post15172017
da1writer is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-28-2009, 03:35 PM
Newbie
 
severenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wanted to point out that I tried a 9-pin straight-thru serial cable extension and encountered the following problems:

1. Volume on Soundbar was muffled, quieter, and missing higher frequencies
2. Remote control would would no longer work - was not recognized by soundbar

As soon as I removed the extension cable, all problems disappeared. I'm guessing that since power goes through the cable, that the length was affecting the power that got to the soundbar.

This is a disappointment for me because I really needed the extra length.
severenz is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-31-2010, 11:52 AM
Newbie
 
mpcreech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased and installed the following cable with my Sony HTC100:

Go to monoprice.com and search item 442 - it is a 6 ft 9 pin extension cable.

The sound is exactly the same and the remote works without any problems. Not bad for less than $2!
mpcreech is offline  
Reply Home Theater In A Box



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off