New! Yamaha YSP-4100 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 169 Old 01-29-2010, 12:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
frostylou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Well all..they are out. Seeing them on Amazon. Ebay, and my Frys just got in the 4100. Has anybody gotten one or heard it yet?

Just wondering how they sound with the improvemnts that were made. Especially the 5100
frostylou is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 169 Old 02-04-2010, 06:31 AM
Newbie
 
XBob360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope to post one soon. I have to wrap up a hefty dose of freelance work before I can justify the purchase, but, I expect to have one setup by the first week in March.

I'm also very interested in seeing a meaningful review (not that "quick" review from Akihabara or whatever it was).
XBob360 is offline  
post #93 of 169 Old 02-04-2010, 07:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
jdawg131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Herrenberg-Kayh
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered one from Vanns, but as I soon as I got it, it went into a crate and is on its way to Germany. Hopefully, I'll have it setup sometime in March. I'm really surprised that there have been very, very few impressions or reviews of the 4100/5100 models.

2010 - In Jimbo I Trust. Go Noles!
2010 - If we had a real QB, the West is Ours. Go Niners!
jdawg131 is offline  
post #94 of 169 Old 02-08-2010, 06:08 AM
Newbie
 
XBob360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just ordered my YSP-5100 from AbesOfMaine.com... it was $1450! It looks like they took it off their site this morning... I guess they ran out of the limited quantity YSP-5100 at that price point. The 4100 is still up though at a staggering $1299.
XBob360 is offline  
post #95 of 169 Old 02-10-2010, 02:49 PM
Newbie
 
TheTruthTTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Once you guys get the new line of YSPs hooked up, tell me if they are a big leap from the ysp-4000
TheTruthTTT is offline  
post #96 of 169 Old 02-11-2010, 06:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
jdawg131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Herrenberg-Kayh
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by XBob360 View Post

Just ordered my YSP-5100 from AbesOfMaine.com... it was $1450! It looks like they took it off their site this morning... I guess they ran out of the limited quantity YSP-5100 at that price point. The 4100 is still up though at a staggering $1299.

Wow. I thought that I got a deal at $1,700 from Vanns.

I was going to send Vanns an email, but noticed that Abes of Maine is not an authorized Yamaha dealer. Bummer...

2010 - In Jimbo I Trust. Go Noles!
2010 - If we had a real QB, the West is Ours. Go Niners!
jdawg131 is offline  
post #97 of 169 Old 02-12-2010, 02:30 PM
Newbie
 
jayjay33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is my first post so I apologize for any newbieness. I setup my YSP-4100 yesterday and it sounds very good to me. I've never listened to the previous models but this one sounds very nice.

I do have some questions for the forum.

What is the best way to setup the YSP-4100 with my tv, blu ray, and fios receiver? Should i hook everything up through hdmi into the Yamaha and then out to my tv (PN63B590). Or should everything go through the TV and then just sound out to the Yamaha.

Also, I bought a Polk PSW505 to go with the sound projector but I cant seem to get it to work. I have one subwoofer cable connecting the sound projector to the subwoofer. Any idea on how to hook this sucker up.

This is my first ever sound system home theater setup so any help would be appreciated. I also bought a harmony one remote to control everything but havent had a chance to even open the box.
jayjay33 is offline  
post #98 of 169 Old 02-12-2010, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MUGEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: US
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayjay33 View Post

This is my first post so I apologize for any newbieness. I setup my YSP-4100 yesterday and it sounds very good to me. I've never listened to the previous models but this one sounds very nice.

I do have some questions for the forum.

What is the best way to setup the YSP-4100 with my tv, blu ray, and fios receiver? Should i hook everything up through hdmi into the Yamaha and then out to my tv (PN63B590). Or should everything go through the TV and then just sound out to the Yamaha.

Also, I bought a Polk PSW505 to go with the sound projector but I cant seem to get it to work. I have one subwoofer cable connecting the sound projector to the subwoofer. Any idea on how to hook this sucker up.

This is my first ever sound system home theater setup so any help would be appreciated. I also bought a harmony one remote to control everything but havent had a chance to even open the box.

1. Hook up everything to the yamaha first then use the HDMI out to the tv.
2. In the menus of the yamaha you should find sound menu_swfr set_bass out and set that to swfr(menus might be different on the ysp-4100 vs ysp-1).
MUGEN is online now  
post #99 of 169 Old 02-12-2010, 06:45 PM
Newbie
 
jayjay33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MUGEN View Post

1. Hook up everything to the yamaha first then use the HDMI out to the tv.
2. In the menus of the yamaha you should find sound menu_swfr set_bass out and set that to swfr(menus might be different on the ysp-4100 vs ysp-1).

Can you please explain why hooking everything up to the yamaha via hdmi is the way to go.

I got the subwoofer to work now. Thanks
jayjay33 is offline  
post #100 of 169 Old 02-13-2010, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MUGEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: US
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayjay33 View Post

Can you please explain why hooking everything up to the yamaha via hdmi is the way to go.

I got the subwoofer to work now. Thanks

Your tv only has optical out which only supports 2ch PCM and 2.0/5.1 dolby digital. To take full advantage of your AV components you need to hook them up to the yamaha via HDMI.
MUGEN is online now  
post #101 of 169 Old 02-14-2010, 12:31 PM
Newbie
 
XBob360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdawg131 View Post

Wow. I thought that I got a deal at $1,700 from Vanns.

I was going to send Vanns an email, but noticed that Abes of Maine is not an authorized Yamaha dealer. Bummer...

Yeah, that is true... it definitely was a consideration I had to balance before buying it. But* they offer a pretty comprehensive 3 year warranty (matching Yamaha's) that is highly rated and their BBB certification is pretty high as well. Take it for what it's worth, but $800 off isn't too bad. Even with a new Blu Ray player, subwoofer and shipping added to the order and I still came in well under the MSRP.

As for the connectivity issues - one of the major benefits to the YSP series is the fact that you no longer need a receiver. Take advantage of this! Your TV can't decode most of the advanced audio formats that the new YSP's can. Sending any signal through the TV, then into the YSP will reduce the potential of all components. Even something as simple as a standard DVD player, plugged into the TV directly and bypassing the YSP would sacrifice the native upscale/upconvert abilities.
XBob360 is offline  
post #102 of 169 Old 02-15-2010, 10:50 AM
Newbie
 
jayjay33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MUGEN View Post

Your tv only has optical out which only supports 2ch PCM and 2.0/5.1 dolby digital. To take full advantage of your AV components you need to hook them up to the yamaha via HDMI.

Thanks for your help Mugen. You too xbob360. Everything works well and sounds great.
jayjay33 is offline  
post #103 of 169 Old 02-16-2010, 01:16 PM
Member
 
curtisf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by XBob360 View Post

Just ordered my YSP-5100 from AbesOfMaine.com... it was $1450! It looks like they took it off their site this morning... I guess they ran out of the limited quantity YSP-5100 at that price point. The 4100 is still up though at a staggering $1299.

I bought a new 4100 from an eBay for $1079 (5100s were selling for $1232 but the unit is too big for my stand). I received it yesterday (only took 3 days!), and it is works great. I also registered it at the Yamaha website, since the seller said it was covered under warranty.

The included wireless subwoofer module and wireless iPod/iPhone adapters are nice. I still think Yamaha should have made these optional accessories and lowered the msrp, so more people could afford it.

I'm trying to decide if PCM or Bitstream is the best way to send signals to the 4100. The 4100 only displays "PCM" and the number of speakers when processing PCM. When processing bitstream, the 4100 will display the appropriate decoder (ie. Dolby Digital, TrueHD, etc.) which is nice. Any suggestions?
curtisf is offline  
post #104 of 169 Old 02-16-2010, 03:00 PM
Newbie
 
TheTruthTTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtisf View Post

I bought a new 4100 from an eBay for $1079 (5100s were selling for $1232 but the unit is too big for my stand). I received it yesterday (only took 3 days!), and it is works great. I also registered it at the Yamaha website, since the seller said it was covered under warranty.

The included wireless subwoofer module and wireless iPod/iPhone adapters are nice. I still think Yamaha should have made these optional accessories and lowered the msrp, so more people could afford it.

I'm trying to decide if PCM or Bitstream is the best way to send signals to the 4100. The 4100 only displays "PCM" and the number of speakers when processing PCM. When processing bitstream, the 4100 will display the appropriate decoder (ie. Dolby Digital, TrueHD, etc.) which is nice. Any suggestions?

Dang that's cheap. I was checking ebay all week everyday and didn't see any of those listings. I think you mean the 4000 for $1079 and and 4100 for $1232

Here's a YSP-4100 for $1250
http://shop.ebay.com/?_from=R40&_trk...&_nkw=ysp-4100

and YSP-5100 for $1698.50
http://shop.ebay.com/?_from=R40&_trk...&_nkw=ysp-5100
TheTruthTTT is offline  
post #105 of 169 Old 02-16-2010, 03:27 PM
Member
 
curtisf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTruthTTT View Post

Dang that's cheap. I was checking ebay all week everyday and didn't see any of those listings. I think you mean the 4000 for $1079 and and 4100 for $1232

Here's a YSP-4100 for $1250
http://shop.ebay.com/?_from=R40&_trk...&_nkw=ysp-4100

and YSP-5100 for $1698.50
http://shop.ebay.com/?_from=R40&_trk...&_nkw=ysp-5100

The seller I bought my YSP from listed the units as "YSP-4100BL" and "YSP-5100BL", which didn't show up in the Ebay search results when looking for "YSP-4100" or "YSP-5100" (which was strange). My unit says "YSP-4100" on the front and it plays Dolby True HD. Does that sound like a 4000?
curtisf is offline  
post #106 of 169 Old 02-17-2010, 04:38 AM
Member
 
don.juan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
4100 or 5100?

which one to get? I have a 46'' LCD, so neither one is a perfect match therefore size is not an argument for me. Technically, why should I get one over the other???
don.juan is offline  
post #107 of 169 Old 02-17-2010, 02:21 PM
Newbie
 
TheTruthTTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by don.juan View Post

4100 or 5100?

which one to get? I have a 46'' LCD, so neither one is a perfect match therefore size is not an argument for me. Technically, why should I get one over the other???

The 5100 has 2 tweeters and the 4100 doesn't. I guess go for that, you may want to pay more. I don't know though, no one bought more then one model besides Davyo. We need some of his words of wisdom here.
TheTruthTTT is offline  
post #108 of 169 Old 02-21-2010, 08:26 AM
Newbie
 
Siggy98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to wall mount a 46'' XBR 5 with a ysp-4100 below it. It will be a few months from now in a new apartment. If I ran hdmi cables through the wall (1 hdmi from the cabinet to the ysp-4100 after a hdmi switched, and 1 through wall hdmi from the unit to the tv)and had AC outlets moved, would there be any way to completely conceal the wires? Thanks!
Siggy98 is offline  
post #109 of 169 Old 02-22-2010, 06:53 AM
Newbie
 
TheTruthTTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siggy98 View Post

I would like to wall mount a 46'' XBR 5 with a ysp-4100 below it. It will be a few months from now in a new apartment. If I ran hdmi cables through the wall (1 hdmi from the cabinet to the ysp-4100 after a hdmi switched, and 1 through wall hdmi from the unit to the tv)and had AC outlets moved, would there be any way to completely conceal the wires? Thanks!

If you run wires through the walls, pretty sure theres a lot of way to conceal the wires.

Anyway, anyone noticed the difference between the models yet?
TheTruthTTT is offline  
post #110 of 169 Old 02-24-2010, 04:02 AM
Member
 
don.juan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any new review on the YSP-4100 and/or the YSP-5100?
don.juan is offline  
post #111 of 169 Old 02-24-2010, 11:50 AM
Member
 
curtisf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally got around to setting up and calibrating my YSP-4100. Comparing it to my Lexicon/NHT system in the A/V room, I was absolutely amazed at the sound quality of the new sound projector. Of course it didn't match the quality of the 7.1 Lexicon system, but for running no wires and easy hookup (~30 min), it is a good piece of hardware from Yamaha. Yes - it does require a sub (I'm using an M&K sub) and a square or rectangular room with few/no obstructions, but it is not extremely picky about that. The room I have installed in is rectangular, but also with an opening on one wall into another the room and it works incredibly.

Played "UP" and "This Is It" in DTS-HD Master Audio and it is amazing to hear the spaciousness and realism this bad boy projects. It really does sound like 7.1 if you sit in area where the calibration microphone was setup. The unit has memory to store many different configurations, so I am wondering if it's possible to do multiple calibrations in various seating positions. Center channel dialogue clarity is excellent.

I haven't tried the included wireless yAired subwoofer module and wireless iPod/iPhone adapter yet.

At $1900 MSRP this is a not a cheap piece of hardware, but you can find deals if you look around. TigerDirect is an authorized dealer and is having 15% Bing cashback today. The YSP-4100 is $1444.95 shipped free and no tax.
curtisf is offline  
post #112 of 169 Old 02-24-2010, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MUGEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: US
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtisf View Post

The unit has memory to store many different configurations, so I am wondering if it's possible to do multiple calibrations in various seating positions.

Yep you can have 3 or 4 saved settings which works with anything changed. I found a +4.0 BASS on both L+R Beam tones makes my YSP-1 sound better. I had to calibrate my YSP-1 the old fashion way with a radio shack db meter.
MUGEN is online now  
post #113 of 169 Old 02-26-2010, 05:02 PM
Member
 
curtisf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some more quick thoughts:
- The HDMI "pass through" (CEC) works for video and audio. This is nice for watching the news without having to turn on the YSP.
- The default surround mode is "5 beam Plus 2" which means that all 5.1 signals get matrixed up to 7.1. However, I think for certain sources, the "5 beam" works better, because the surround sound is more defined.
- The wireless iPod works great with my iPhone 3G. It allows you to play music from about 70ft, and it also controls the volume. I think the iPhone works better than my Logitech Duet controller. I wish Yamaha integrated mutiple zones into the YSP.
curtisf is offline  
post #114 of 169 Old 03-09-2010, 09:01 PM
Member
 
foxdie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would pairing a ysp-5100 with a definitivee technology supercube II be overkill?
foxdie is offline  
post #115 of 169 Old 03-17-2010, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MUGEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: US
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxdie View Post

Would pairing a ysp-5100 with a definitivee technology supercube II be overkill?

I've had that same sub hooked up to my ysp-1 for the past 5-6 years. The 8" sub just doesn't cut it and the 14" would of been a better choice but for that price I would go with another brand's 12".
MUGEN is online now  
post #116 of 169 Old 03-20-2010, 08:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
jdawg131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Herrenberg-Kayh
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally got my YSP-4100 hooked up last night. Unfortunately, I'm running into an issues with getting ti to recognize my Velodyne Impact 10 sub. When I run the auto setup it can't find the sub and when the test is done, under subwoofer, it says Not Applicable. My YSP-3000 recognizes the Impact Mini without issue. I'm using the Y-adapter like Velodyne says to use and the cables are plugged into the correct slots. Please help...

2010 - In Jimbo I Trust. Go Noles!
2010 - If we had a real QB, the West is Ours. Go Niners!
jdawg131 is offline  
post #117 of 169 Old 03-20-2010, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MUGEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: US
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdawg131 View Post

I finally got my YSP-4100 hooked up last night. Unfortunately, I'm running into an issues with getting ti to recognize my Velodyne Impact 10 sub. When I run the auto setup it can't find the sub and when the test is done, under subwoofer, it says Not Applicable. My YSP-3000 recognizes the Impact Mini without issue. I'm using the Y-adapter like Velodyne says to use and the cables are plugged into the correct slots. Please help...

Try setting the sub up manually in the menus of the yamaha. In the menus you should find sound menu_swfr set_bass out and set that to swfr(menus might be different on the ysp-4100 vs ysp-1) then set up distance and crossover(recommend 100hz). Use the yamaha sound test to see if worked.
MUGEN is online now  
post #118 of 169 Old 03-20-2010, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,431
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdawg131 View Post

I finally got my YSP-4100 hooked up last night. Unfortunately, I'm running into an issues with getting ti to recognize my Velodyne Impact 10 sub. When I run the auto setup it can't find the sub and when the test is done, under subwoofer, it says Not Applicable. My YSP-3000 recognizes the Impact Mini without issue. I'm using the Y-adapter like Velodyne says to use and the cables are plugged into the correct slots. Please help...

What is the Impact 10 sub gain (volume) set at? Try turning up the sub gain some and also check Bass Output is set to "Subwoofer".
JChin is offline  
post #119 of 169 Old 03-21-2010, 05:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
jdawg131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Herrenberg-Kayh
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I brought my Impact Mini downstairs and the YSP-4100 found it without issue. There's something wrong with my brand new Impact 10. I've sent Velodyne an email.

2010 - In Jimbo I Trust. Go Noles!
2010 - If we had a real QB, the West is Ours. Go Niners!
jdawg131 is offline  
post #120 of 169 Old 03-26-2010, 09:08 AM
Newbie
 
atpparts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a question maybe somebody can answer.

The STB controller works well for the mute, volume, and turning off the TV, STB, and YSP-4100 all at once with one button.
When I turn on the system with the STB controller, it does not turn on the YSP-4100.
I have to do it with the Yamaha contoller and when it first comes on it is at HDMI1 and then defaults to the TV imput.
The annoying part is having set it back to HDMI1.
Do all of them do this or do I have something not set correctly?

Thanks for any help.
atpparts is offline  
Reply Home Theater In A Box

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off