NEW Release! Onkyo HT-S5300...Any Good? - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 784 Old 04-30-2010, 02:27 PM
Member
 
Pepelutivruski4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
real quick. i keep reading that the audio return is possible even if the TV and cable are not HDMI 1.4, so long as the component(receiver) is capable of such.

can anyone confirm that please?
Pepelutivruski4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 784 Old 04-30-2010, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 1,304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pepelutivruski4 View Post

real quick. i keep reading that the audio return is possible even if the TV and cable are not HDMI 1.4, so long as the component(receiver) is capable of such.

can anyone confirm that please?

Cable isn't a big deal. The TV does have to support ARC though, whether or not it can do this over 1.3 I'm not sure. As for the receiver, only receivers from this year which are HDMI 1.4 seem to have this feature.
ES_Revenge is online now  
post #93 of 784 Old 05-01-2010, 03:05 AM
Newbie
 
ricomambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

I'm from the Philippines and I'm new here in AVS. I'm glad to see Onkyo HTIB fans in here. I just ordered my HT-S5300 + 16AWG cables from Amazon + UP! BR package to test the set-up (using my PS3).

Hope to read new users' reviews soon

- Rico
ricomambo is offline  
post #94 of 784 Old 05-01-2010, 08:37 AM
Member
 
kablooie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: so cal
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wongnog View Post

i just got a notice that my order from electronicsforless.ca is completed and my item is ready for in-store pickup! They're on my way home from work so i'll pick up the package right away. I just spoke with them on the phone and they said the units came in a couple days early (site still says units are available for pre-order for may 10 delivery) and i expressed my surprise as many on the american newegg and amazon sites are wondering when their orders will be fulfilled, and he said they are the largest onkyo dealer in canada. Anyway i'll probably open the package to check out the contents but won't set everything up yet as the unit is for my new condo that i'm moving into in a month.

so what's in the box!??!?!?!?!?!?
kablooie is offline  
post #95 of 784 Old 05-03-2010, 12:17 PM
Member
 
golo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump!

Any reviews or comments from those out there that got their 5300 up and running? Don't let this thread die now that you got it
golo is offline  
post #96 of 784 Old 05-03-2010, 01:58 PM
Member
 
Pepelutivruski4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mine just shipped. i'm very excited actually and will post first impressions soon as i get it up and going.
i will be buying the swivel mounts off monoprice as well as some 16 guage speaker wire for the 4 rear/side channels.

i have a few movies in 7.1, but i think i'll throw in Sleeping beauty first.
Pepelutivruski4 is offline  
post #97 of 784 Old 05-03-2010, 06:27 PM
Newbie
 
CrazyMYKL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently bought this system, but I've only set it up as 3.1 thus far, need to get a stud finder to install the mounts for the surrounds and surround backs.

Sound Quality seems good for a HTIB so far, although obviously I'll wait until I have all the channels installed and calibrated before making a final judgement.

It does not come with a calibration mic, as some have alluded to.
CrazyMYKL is offline  
post #98 of 784 Old 05-04-2010, 01:43 AM
Newbie
 
ricomambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyMYKL View Post

I recently bought this system, but I've only set it up as 3.1 thus far, need to get a stud finder to install the mounts for the surrounds and surround backs.

Sound Quality seems good for a HTIB so far, although obviously I'll wait until I have all the channels installed and calibrated before making a final judgement.

It does not come with a calibration mic, as some have alluded to.

Nice. Can you post actual pics please? I'm excited already
ricomambo is offline  
post #99 of 784 Old 05-04-2010, 03:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Davird_Jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Berkshires - Hancock, MA
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was there a mic in the box?

Dave
Davird_Jr is offline  
post #100 of 784 Old 05-04-2010, 04:39 AM
Newbie
 
ricomambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davird_Jr View Post

Was there a mic in the box?

none based on above post..
ricomambo is offline  
post #101 of 784 Old 05-04-2010, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 1,304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davird_Jr View Post

Was there a mic in the box?

I thought we already covered this in the thread? No mic comes with this set/receiver. There is no input for one and the Audyssey version it is equipped with does not support one.
ES_Revenge is online now  
post #102 of 784 Old 05-04-2010, 01:22 PM
Newbie
 
HRITCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone!
I had fun reading the posts. I just bought my HT-S5300 this past Saturday at BrandsMart USA, and let me tell you, it really does rock !

Unfortunately, it does not come with an Audyssey mic

The volume/sound quality is really good considering it is a HTIB. The speakers have a sleek, clean look to them, and do feel sturdy. The bass module sounds really good.

I setup all 7 speakers, with only two in the back for surround (the other two I placed them on top). I did a comparsion test before/after I setup the speakers using the GUID, and I was able to tell the diference. I still need to do some fine adjustments, but over-all, I am very pleased!

This afternoon, I will be replacing all my "cheap" HDMI cables with decent ones, and will have to do more testing.

Here is some advise - read the manual first !!! I know - I usually just toss the manual to the side, and not worry about it. There is a lot of good information there, and can potentially help you avoid any issues.

I will keep you guys updated, and please, do let me know if you have any questions!

H
HRITCH is offline  
post #103 of 784 Old 05-04-2010, 10:09 PM
Member
 
Pepelutivruski4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HRITCH View Post

This afternoon, I will be replacing all my "cheap" HDMI cables with decent ones,

by "decent" do u mean monster cable $60 for 5' from best buy....?

just the same congratulations on your 5300, i will share your joy sooner than later
Pepelutivruski4 is offline  
post #104 of 784 Old 05-04-2010, 10:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 381
yes, what is a "cheap" HDMI cable vs a "decent" one?

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #105 of 784 Old 05-04-2010, 10:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Since Monoprice cables are decent and cost about $4-$10, I guess he got his cheap ones for under a dollar.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #106 of 784 Old 05-05-2010, 06:54 AM
Newbie
 
HRITCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LOL - actually, I purchased the cables from Mountspro through a friend at a discounted price. I am happy with them. I did notice the improvement over the previos cheap ones I had. For me, cheap vs decent ones is the gauge and transfer speed, and not necesarily the brand.

Last night, I finally was able to program my Logitech Harmony One. I did some testing, and everything is working well. I will keep on testing and adjusting. Once I hide the speaker wires, I will post pictures!
HRITCH is offline  
post #107 of 784 Old 05-05-2010, 09:09 AM
Senior Member
 
jmoakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What type of speaker stands do the speakers use?
jmoakk is offline  
post #108 of 784 Old 05-05-2010, 09:37 AM
Newbie
 
HRITCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmoakk View Post

What type of speaker stands do the speakers use?

The speakers come with keyhole slots that you can mount on the walls to achieve the "floating" look. All the speakers have one keyhole, except for the center speaker, which has 2. And no, the sub does not have any
HRITCH is offline  
post #109 of 784 Old 05-05-2010, 10:06 AM
Senior Member
 
jmoakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks :-)
jmoakk is offline  
post #110 of 784 Old 05-05-2010, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
jmoakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I see the receiver takes banana plugs. Do the speakers have banana plug posts also?
jmoakk is offline  
post #111 of 784 Old 05-05-2010, 11:05 AM
Newbie
 
HRITCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmoakk View Post

I see the receiver takes banana plugs. Do the speakers have banana plug posts also?

Unfortunately, the speakers do not have banana plugs. They use springs. I have not had any issues with the springs even though I have moved them around quite a bit. I am also using 16 gauge speaker wire.
HRITCH is offline  
post #112 of 784 Old 05-05-2010, 11:05 AM
Newbie
 
HRITCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmoakk View Post

Thanks :-)

Anytime my friend !
HRITCH is offline  
post #113 of 784 Old 05-05-2010, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
 
jmoakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Cool, springs are ok with me. I just wanted to make sure I order the right amount of banana plugs. Thanks again for the info!
jmoakk is offline  
post #114 of 784 Old 05-05-2010, 12:11 PM
Newbie
 
HRITCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmoakk View Post

Cool, springs are ok with me. I just wanted to make sure I order the right amount of banana plugs. Thanks again for the info!

No problem jmoakk - quick question... where are you going to order your banana plugs, and which ones do you recommend? I am researching for some as we speak.

Thanks !
HRITCH is offline  
post #115 of 784 Old 05-05-2010, 12:23 PM
Senior Member
 
jmoakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
www.monoprice.com

I've only used their pin type connectors but I'm sure their banana plugs are just as good. I along with many other members of this forum highly recommend them.
jmoakk is offline  
post #116 of 784 Old 05-06-2010, 06:35 AM
Member
 
LCDLP Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got mine arriving tomorrow. Thanks for the review. I'm really excited to get it going!
LCDLP Guy is offline  
post #117 of 784 Old 05-06-2010, 06:42 AM
Newbie
 
HRITCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Congratulations!!
Let us know how the installation went!
I just ordered my banana clips from Monoprice.com - they make the speaker installation easier.
One more thing - I strongly recommend buying heavier gauge speaker wire. When I first installed it, I used the wire that comes with the equipment. It is small and not too long - the next day, I bought 26 gauge wire. Finally, make sure you have your HDMI cables.
HRITCH is offline  
post #118 of 784 Old 05-06-2010, 02:23 PM
Member
 
LCDLP Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HRITCH View Post

Congratulations!!
Let us know how the installation went!
I just ordered my banana clips from Monoprice.com - they make the speaker installation easier.
One more thing - I strongly recommend buying heavier gauge speaker wire. When I first installed it, I used the wire that comes with the equipment. It is small and not too long - the next day, I bought 26 gauge wire. Finally, make sure you have your HDMI cables.


Well I prewired my room, as I secured a small space to myself, when the basement was built to use as my mancave. And I used 14 gauge in-wall cable, so that should be sufficient. Not much I can do about it now, unless I pull it out and use something else if I run into sound issues.

Smaller the gauge #, thicker the wire. Bought a 500 ft roll from Home Depot, so I have plenty of left over.
LL
LL
LL
LCDLP Guy is offline  
post #119 of 784 Old 05-06-2010, 05:11 PM
Senior Member
 
myron243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kingwood, Texas
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine arrived from Amazon this afternoon. I got it for the 1.4 HDMI because of 3D stuff. I moved my Onkyo 605 and the speakers I was using upstairs to the game room. Except for my 15" Cerwin-Vega sub. I still need to program my Harmony remote because I now use the HT-R580 for the HDMI switch and all the inputs are different than how I had the 605 set up.

So far I've listened to several genres on my Dish DVR and they are all great. It seems a bit cleaner than the 605 but then that may be the speakers. Anyway, I'm very happy.

Just another old geezer killin' time till time kills me.
myron243 is offline  
post #120 of 784 Old 05-06-2010, 07:43 PM
Member
 
Pepelutivruski4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
are u all using 16 guage wire?
i was thinking of buying some 14, but i've got tons of 16 still... will it do?
my previous speakers and receiver really really sucked so i don't bias the wire gauge yet.

my rears are going maybe 30' from the receiver and the side rears will be about 20' from the receiver... and that's just counting distance from receiver to speaker. thanks.
Pepelutivruski4 is offline  
Reply Home Theater In A Box

Tags
Speaker Systems , Onkyo

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off