Onkyo HT-S3300 or Yamaha YHT-493BL or 393BL - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Home Theater In A Box > Onkyo HT-S3300 or Yamaha YHT-493BL or 393BL

Home Theater In A Box

golo's Avatar golo
03:00 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 10
04-24-2010 | Posts: 68
FYI I am a Home Theater noob

Onkyo HT-S3300 aound $300

http://http://www.onkyousa.com/model...ss=Systems&p=i

Yamaha YHT-493BL around $400

http://www.yamaha.com/yec/products/p...4&CTID=5000800

Yamaha YHT-393BL around $340-350

http://www.yamaha.com/yec/products/p...6&CTID=5000800

I am only going to be using this for my medium sized bedroom for watching TV and movies and games on my PS3... I am not a big audio person.. first home theater ever so I don't need the better more expensive systems... I am trying to pick from the choices above...these are the differences I have found between the two yamaha models... the 393BL has smaller woofers at 2-1/2" compared to the 2-3/4" woofers of the 493BL.. that is the only difference.. is that worth the 50-60 dollar difference???

As for the Onkyo it has a passive sub compared to the active sub on the yamaha... also the onkyo has audyssey..I don't see the yamaha having this.. is that really important or does the yamaha have something similar? seems the onkyo has more features.. maybe i only think this because the yamaha page isnt as detailed... any advice?? thanks.. crazyrob.. I'm expecting to hear a good response from you

Or is there a better option for a ~$400 or so price range... again this will always be a bedroom set.. I'll get a bigger better system once I get my house...

thanks again in advance...