Official BDV-E770W Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 195 Old 04-19-2011, 11:52 AM
Member
 
jff6791's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyfb View Post

Hey everyone,

I recently bought this BDV-E770w HTIB and I was curious about audio selectors as this unit only has the HDMI out. I have a XBOX 360, the BD player from the HTIB and my comcast box hooked up to my tv, which is a KDL-EX500.

I was told I only get the true surround sound playing discs in the BD player, and to get the true surround for my 360 and comcast box that I would need a audio selector or a fiber optic splitter. Right now my BD player from the HTIB is HDMI to the TV and I have a fiber optic from the player to the TV as well.

I was checking out an audio selector on Amazon that allows up to three tos link/fibers to be hooked up to it. I was wondering if this would solve my problem and give me true surround on my 360 and while watching television on comcast.

I greatly apriciate any help and advice!

As long as your HDMI cable between TV and HTIB is 1.4 you won't need the Toslink cable. Just enable HDMI control and Audio Return Channel (ARC) on the HTIB and it will send surround audio from TV to theater. I'm using this setup with a KDL60-EX700 set.
jff6791 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 195 Old 04-21-2011, 09:17 AM
Newbie
 
rickg421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wanted to throw my hat in the ring regarding the E770W and DLNA streaming. So far it doesn't like WMP or TVersity, whereas my PS3 and LG TV both like it fine. I go through the network diagnostic option for servers and it fails saying "DLNA not supported". I brought up Wireshark on the DLNA server and it exchanging messages, but I don't know enough of the interface to do anything. I installed Serviio and it shows up, but I think I still need to play with its profiles some more. Another board suggested "Sony" profile for the E770W.
rickg421 is offline  
post #183 of 195 Old 04-26-2011, 06:57 AM
Member
 
jff6791's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jff6791 View Post

As long as your HDMI cable between TV and HTIB is 1.4 you won't need the Toslink cable. Just enable HDMI control and Audio Return Channel (ARC) on the HTIB and it will send surround audio from TV to theater. I'm using this setup with a KDL60-EX700 set.

Update: Just saw this post on Sony forum that EX500 has no ARC so you will need the toslink cable. Sorry about that.
jff6791 is offline  
post #184 of 195 Old 08-04-2011, 06:04 AM
Newbie
 
johndingk2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone been able to get additional speakers to work with this system, say Rocketfish wireless or something like that? I want to have an additional speaker for my deck and one for my basement. I know that S-air speakers are out there, but they seem to be lame based off of reviews. If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know.
johndingk2 is offline  
post #185 of 195 Old 08-05-2011, 08:47 PM
Newbie
 
bakon2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I have skimmed thru these threads, but being a newb I cannot figure out what is the problem. I am hooking up the sony bvd-e770w to my samsung tv via hdmi. I also have direct tv hooked up to the same tv via hdmi. i only have sound thru this sony system if on a dvd or radio ( I have not hooked it up to the internet). Nothing I do seems to change it so I can hear my direct tv thru the speakers. any hints?
thanks in advance,
b
bakon2 is offline  
post #186 of 195 Old 08-05-2011, 09:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakon2 View Post

Ok, I have skimmed thru these threads, but being a newb I cannot figure out what is the problem. I am hooking up the sony bvd-e770w to my samsung tv via hdmi. I also have direct tv hooked up to the same tv via hdmi. i only have sound thru this sony system if on a dvd or radio ( I have not hooked it up to the internet). Nothing I do seems to change it so I can hear my direct tv thru the speakers. any hints?
thanks in advance,
b

Hi bakon2, connect an optical cable or coaxial cable from directv to E770w "Optical Digital In" jack.
JChin is offline  
post #187 of 195 Old 08-06-2011, 09:20 AM
Newbie
 
johndingk2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

Hi bakon2, connect an optical cable or coaxial cable from directv to E770w "Optical Digital In" jack.

I have the optical audio cable hooked from DVR to E770w but on HD channels, I don't get any sound from the rear speakers. Any suggestions?
zegbop likes this.
johndingk2 is offline  
post #188 of 195 Old 08-06-2011, 09:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by johndingk2 View Post

I have the optical audio cable hooked from DVR to E770w but on HD channels, I don't get any sound from the rear speakers. Any suggestions?

Hi johndingk2, check DVR audio menu is set to output Dolby Digital. Also note not all HD programming are DD 5.1, some are 2.0 stereo. The 2.0 stereo you can use ProLogic II as the listening mode.
JChin is offline  
post #189 of 195 Old 08-06-2011, 01:50 PM
Newbie
 
johndingk2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post
Hi johndingk2, check DVR audio menu is set to output Dolby Digital. Also note not all HD programming are DD 5.1, some are 2.0 stereo. The 2.0 stereo you can use ProLogic II as the listening mode.
It turned out that the amp for the rears had lost its signal. Just rebooted everything and now it is fine.
johndingk2 is offline  
post #190 of 195 Old 08-11-2011, 11:21 PM
Member
 
l_svps3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello guys, need some help with the audio return channel, I have the HTiB plugged to the HDMI 1 of the TV using a 1.4 HDMI cable, my PS3(80GB fat) to port 4 of the TV using a 1.3 HDMI cable, the PS3 sound set it up to output the audio thru HDMI, HDMI control is enabled on both devices (audio return in "auto" HTiB) but I can't get any audio when using the PS3 or normal cable channels, what I'm doing wrong? THERE'S NO AUDIO RETURN FROM THE TV THRU HDMI TO THE HTIB DO I NEED A SLIM PS3? THE TV SHOULD OUTPUT AUDIO OF REGULAR CABLE CHANNELS THRU HDMI TO THE HTIB?
l_svps3 is offline  
post #191 of 195 Old 08-11-2011, 11:27 PM
Member
 
l_svps3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jff6791 View Post

Update: Just saw this post on Sony forum that EX500 has no ARC so you will need the toslink cable. Sorry about that.

is this true?
l_svps3 is offline  
post #192 of 195 Old 08-15-2011, 07:24 AM
Member
 
jff6791's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by l_svps3 View Post

is this true?

The post I quoted was from a Sony Moderator. To confirm check the spec section of owners manual. If ARC not listed anywhere then prob not equipped.
jff6791 is offline  
post #193 of 195 Old 08-15-2011, 09:06 AM
Member
 
l_svps3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jff6791 View Post

The post I quoted was from a Sony Moderator. To confirm check the spec section of owners manual. If ARC not listed anywhere then prob not equipped.

Thanks man, sorry for being in doubt, but but everywhere says that the KDL-40EX500 has ARC.
l_svps3 is offline  
post #194 of 195 Old 02-17-2012, 11:51 PM
Newbie
 
waynetolson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
im having trouble with me rear receiver. the green light goes very dim and speakers do not work at all. this happens almost everyday!! can someone help!! i have read about the freq. on settings A, B, and C and to off set with my wireless router but problems are still occurring. does any one have a solution?
waynetolson is offline  
post #195 of 195 Old 08-30-2012, 08:31 PM
Newbie
 
AutobahnSHO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the green light is on but dim seems to be a power problem to me. Try unplugging it for 10-15min and then plugging it back in. Make sure the card is seated in the back, speakers are fully connected, that the power outlet isn't damaged or defective.
AutobahnSHO is offline  
Reply Home Theater In A Box

Tags
Sony

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off