AVS Forum banner

Official BDV-E770W Thread

Tags
sony
63K views 194 replies 39 participants last post by  AutobahnSHO 
#1 ·
Greetings everyone! This is my first time starting a thread & reviewing anything on AVS Forum, so please be gentle...

Last month I purchased one of the last Sony HT-CT500 Sound Bars left in Phoenix, AZ at the local Fry's Electronics, hoping for a small footprint solution for my home theater needs.

I found that the soundbar produced enough volume and did a great job of integrating my inputs (PS3, DirecTV HDDVR, HDMI Laptop) but I didn't care for the lack of true surround sound, especially when watching movies and HD television programs.

So I went back to Fry's Electronics, and spoke with a salesman about the brand new Sony BDV-E770W . It was a $250 more than the Sony Soundbar, but it had tons more to offer: internet radio ( Slacker , Pandora ); Video On Demand ( Sony's Qriocity ), an XMB similar to the Playstation 3, and best of all... wireless surround speakers. The two wireless rear speakers (TA-SA200WR) use the Sony S-AIR technology to communicate with the main unit by means of a medium sized box & amplifier, and are the same size as the front left/right speakers and have a 167w max output.

I was immediately impressed with the amount of sound produced by such small speakers
, according to the Sony specifications it has 1000w total system output. If you see them in person, you will be surprised at how loud these little speakers can get.

Initial setup:

The first difficulty I encountered was the total lack of HDMI inputs.