Onkyo HT-S7300 Bass issue - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 09-28-2010, 02:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Nataku4ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada BC
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I finally decided to take the plunge and bought the 7300 last weekend. After setting everything up I noticed one tiny problem.

Whenever I start the receiver the light on the bass stays red and I have to manually go into audio setup and click on the setting where you change the db(can't remember what the option was) and move the cursor to bass for it to turn blue.

Is this normal? or did I miss something...?
(didn't see another thread similar to this so I decided to start one)

Thanks,
Nataku4ca is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 09-28-2010, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MandM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kamloops B.C.
Posts: 1,204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Without going into setup first, play an audio source. Does the light turn blue? If so this is normal.
MandM is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 09-29-2010, 04:26 AM
Member
 
oligeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Indeed,

If HT-S7300 reacts as my HT-S9100, the Sub goes idlle when not required by the system (low volume, no bass requiring the sub in a given sequence,...). Sometimes, in a movie, after a sequence with loads of bass and effects (action sequence for instance), the sub may go iddle because the next sequence is quieter (dialogs for instance).

Hope that helps
oligeo is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 09-29-2010, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
samsurd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Coast of CA
Posts: 3,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's one of the compromises that can come with buying an HTIB. Many subwoofers that are not part of an HTIB have an "AUTO ON" capability like that included in the OP's subwoofer. However they also include the ability to set the subwoofer to ON so that the listener does not suffer from the consequences of bass levels that change as a function of what the input source is and, therefore, may or may not activate the subwoofer. If HTIB manufacturers want to save cost by not including the ON option along with the AUTO ON option, just have the subwoofer ON all of the time and be done with it. IIRC, that's the way most older HTIBs were configured. JMO
samsurd2 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 10-01-2010, 10:04 AM
Member
 
MooseLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also have the 7300. On the back of the sub adjust the volume to about half. It should kick on the next time you have a movie or something with some bass. When i set up audussey it set my bass to 0 so that should get you to around reference once you get it set, the way you want. (I.E. speaker placement and such)

We need a 7300 thread so we can discuss little things like this. What kind of speaker mounts did you get for the surrounds?
MooseLover is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 10-02-2010, 01:05 PM
Member
 
flyfl1pguy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MooseLover View Post

I also have the 7300. On the back of the sub adjust the volume to about half. It should kick on the next time you have a movie or something with some bass. When i set up audussey it set my bass to 0 so that should get you to around reference once you get it set, the way you want. (I.E. speaker placement and such)

We need a 7300 thread so we can discuss little things like this. What kind of speaker mounts did you get for the surrounds?

yes i agree with you. We need a 7300 thread for all our needs.

I myself just purchased this HTiB. I am still about 75 complete with my installation. I finally received my speaker wires for my surround sound.
So maybe this weekend ill be able to complete my hook up.
I am still a bit confuse about the optical and hdmi.

So a few of my friends have told me that without optical cables, i wouldnt be able to hear the full capabilities of the system. So i went ahead and bought a couple of optical cables. My setup is like this.
TV hdmi and optical to receiver
Sat. box hdmi to receiver
ps3 hdmi and optical to receiver

IS this a good set up? What would be the best set up for my equipments?
flyfl1pguy99 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 10-13-2010, 10:38 PM
Member
 
omgitsoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyfl1pguy99 View Post

yes i agree with you. We need a 7300 thread for all our needs.

I myself just purchased this HTiB. I am still about 75 complete with my installation. I finally received my speaker wires for my surround sound.
So maybe this weekend ill be able to complete my hook up.
I am still a bit confuse about the optical and hdmi.

So a few of my friends have told me that without optical cables, i wouldnt be able to hear the full capabilities of the system. So i went ahead and bought a couple of optical cables. My setup is like this.
TV hdmi and optical to receiver
Sat. box hdmi to receiver
ps3 hdmi and optical to receiver

IS this a good set up? What would be the best set up for my equipments?

Whoever told you that is retarded, optical audio can't carry dolby true hd, dts ma-hd, and can only carry 2 channels of pcm, while hdmi can carry all of that plus 7 channels of pcm, plus you only need the one cable.
omgitsoop is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 10-15-2010, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Nataku4ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada BC
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi everyone,

Thanks for responding, I got caught up between work and my gf and couldn't come reply for the past week lol (gf had a week of vacation off school)

oligeo is right, and I didn't figure that out until very recently

I've got most of my stuff connected now, now I'm just trying to figure out a way to get the receiver output to show when I watch TV lol, not being able to see volume control on screen was alittle annoying... I think a PVR will probably fix the last of my problems

best purchase I've made in a long time
thanks again for replying to this thread
Nataku4ca is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 10-26-2010, 09:41 PM
Newbie
 
charizo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anymore user reviews of this HTIB?? worth pulling the trigger on?


TIA
charizo is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 11-08-2010, 08:28 AM
Newbie
 
ezdlr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got all hooked up, can`t figure out to set up so i can play all speakers, can only get fl c fr speakers to operate, open to suggestions. by the the way this the fourth srs i have owned and by far the best with only 3 speakers working,, will even be better when set correctly thanks
ezdlr is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 11-08-2010, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
samsurd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central Coast of CA
Posts: 3,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^RTFM starting with page, especially "Advanced Setup" starting on page 38.
samsurd2 is offline  
Reply Home Theater In A Box

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off