sound drops in arc from tc-42g25 and ht-s3300 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 12-01-2010, 07:42 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
green acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello!

I just purchased onkyo ht-s3300.

My tv has netflix streaming. When I watch neflix with sound to ht-s3300 via hdmi arc - the sound is fine on low volume levels - up to 30. if i go to 40 i start noticing interruption in sound in loud scenes. it's getting worse if i increase volume level further. at 60 and up almost no sound gets through just short bursts every now and then.

in the above config i have just hdmi cable between hdmi 1 on tv and hdmi out on ht-s3300. hdmi arc is enabled in 'hdmi controls' on ht-s3300.
input selector is set to 'tv/cd'
there is NO optical cable between tv and ht-s3300, just hdmi cable.

When I disable arc in 'hdmi control' on ht-s3300,
set 'default assignement' for 'tv/cd to OPT2 in 'digital audio'
and connect tv and ht-s3300:OPT2 with optical cable
the sound is fine on all volume levels. no sound drops.

When I use tv speakers the i don't notice any sound drops either.



2) I also have a question.
I have a dvd player connected to HDMI 1 on HT-s3300.
and in "HDMI input" I have BD/DVD assigned to HDMI1.

According to the ht-s3300 manual (page 31)

www intl onkyo.com/downloads/manuals/pdf/ht-s3300_manual_e.pdf

When an HDMI IN is assigned to an input selector as explained
here, the digital audio input for that input selector is automatically
set to the same HDMI IN (➔ 31, Digital Audio (Digital
Audio Input)).


But I've never seen "HDMI IN" choice in "digital audio' menu. All I have is
"----" COAX OPT1 OPT2. But I have sound from the dvd going to the ht-s3300 speakers fine.

Thanks,
green acorn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 12-01-2010, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Hi green acorn, how long is the HDMI cable - receiver to Tv?

1) suggest trying a different HDMI cable

2) for example: if HDMI-1 (BD/DVD) is being used and another component connected using coaxial or optical is assigned to the same BD/DVD Input, HDMI input would have priority over digital input but you can select which to use by going into "Audio Sel" menu.
JChin is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 12-01-2010, 10:18 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
green acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

Hi green acorn, how long is the HDMI cable - receiver to Tv?

1) suggest trying a different HDMI cable

the cable is cheap 6' cable. i have several of them and I think I saw the
same sound drops with all of them. I will doublecheck that.

I will buy another cable and see if that makes any difference.

On the other hand how would bad cable explain that sound drops happen only when volume is on high ? If i watch the same scene that had sound drops but on lower volume there is no sound drops.

2) for example: if HDMI-1 (BD/DVD) is being used and another component connected using coaxial or optical is assigned to the same BD/DVD Input, HDMI input would have priority over digital input but you can select which to use by going into "Audio Sel" menu.

Am I supposed to see "HDMI IN" among the choices in "digutal audio" menu ?
I don't have that choice there.
I will try assigning a second device to BD/DVD and see what happens.

Thanks,
green acorn is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 12-01-2010, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by green acorn View Post

Am I supposed to see "HDMI IN" among the choices in "digutal audio" menu ?
I don't have that choice there.
I will try assigning a second device to BD/DVD and see what happens.

Thanks,

No, you will not see HDMI IN on "Digital Audio Input", just Coax, Opt-1, Opt-2 and (-----).
JChin is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 12-01-2010, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
green acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok. i tried all 3 hdmi cables i have.
Unfortunately they are all the same kind as I bought them toghether.
6', "gold plated", hdmi 1.3
and with each of them i had those sound drops.
(I will try purchasing another cable).

changing "listening modes" didn't have any effect on sound drops.

when i disabled arc and switched back to using optical cable sound drops were gone.
was listening on "MAX" volume and no sound drops.


Those sound drops happen only during scenes with very loud or loud and sharp
sounds ( I was watching martial combat fighting ).
I am not sure if I experienced them during quiet scenes with dialog.

I wonder if somebody could try to try reproduce this
by playing something loud over arc ...




and I have another question

3) Is there any advantage of using hdmi arc instead of optical cable ?
I mean in sound quality. I know that one advantage of arc is that there will
be one less cable.

Thanks,
green acorn is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 12-01-2010, 11:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by green acorn View Post

and I have another question

3) Is there any advantage of using hdmi arc instead of optical cable ?
I mean in sound quality. I know that one advantage of arc is that there will
be one less cable.

Thanks,

As far as SQ, no. Best audio output from NF (if offer) is DD 5.1.

If Tv optical "Digital Audio Out" output DD 5.1, then you are good to go.
JChin is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 12-01-2010, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by green acorn View Post

changing "listening modes" didn't have any effect on sound drops.

Thanks,

Just though of something, on the receiver try setting "Digital Input Signal formats" from Auto to PCM.
JChin is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 12-01-2010, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
green acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

Just though of something, on the receiver try setting "Digital Input Signal formats" from Auto to PCM.

I can't change audio input format for TV/CD. (i was holding audio for 8 secs.
and it worked for BD/DVD input source).
I think this is because I don't have anything assigned to that input source.

(page 39 of the manual says 'digital input signal formats are available
only for the input sources that you have assigned a digital input jack)

Should I have something assigned to TV/CD input source in 'hdmi input'
menu when i use arc ?



when i use optical cable i assign OPT2 to TV/CD input source.

-Thanks
green acorn is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 12-01-2010, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by green acorn View Post

I can't change audio input format for TV/CD. (i was holding audio for 8 secs.
and it worked for BD/DVD input source).
I think this is because I don't have anything assigned to that input source.

(page 39 of the manual says 'digital input signal formats are available
only for the input sources that you have assigned a digital input jack)

Should I have something assigned to TV/CD input source in 'hdmi input'
menu when i use arc ?

-Thanks

Ah, yes it has to have a HDMI input assign to it so this may not work then.

I believe if HDMI is assign to TV/CD then ARC may not work. But give it a shot and see what happens.
JChin is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 12-01-2010, 01:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
green acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It wouldn't let me to change from AUTO to PCM until I disabled ARC.
so i changed it to PCM and then enabled ARC. And I not 100% sure but I THINK
I had fewer sound drops and they were starting at higher volume levels than before.
It seemd could raise volume to 60-65 with no drops. Then some
drops would appear at around 70. So it seemed like it was better
than what I saw before.


Then I powercycled HT-S3300 and now it see sound drops appearing as before.


I was also watching front panel display on HT-S3300
and i noticed that "PCM" in "audio input indicators"
disapped couple of times toghether with
"PL II" in "listeneing mode indicator".

Another thing I noticed is when I press 'display' on low volume (when
i don't see sound drops) the display cycles through

"TV/CD 33"
"PCM fs:44.1kHZ"
"TV PLII Movie"


On high volume when i see lots of sound drops pressing display cycles mostly
through

"TV/CD 70"
"TV PLII Movie"

I almost never see "PCM fs: 44.1kHz" on display.



Don't know if this is an indication of something or not.






I have

-
thanks
green acorn is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 12-01-2010, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Afraid I'm running out of ideas beside trying a different HDMI cable (beside the one you have), sorry.
JChin is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 12-08-2010, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
green acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JChin,

I just got a new hdmi cable from monoprice. The ARC support was listed in description of the cable on their website. With that cable I don't see any sound drops in ARC anymore !

thank you for your help.
green acorn is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 12-08-2010, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Glad to hear, enjoy.
JChin is offline  
Reply Home Theater In A Box

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off