Optical Audio TV to Home Theater, No Sound :( - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 02-03-2012, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
milestm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, just wondering if anyone could help,

I have a Hisense 55" LED HL55T36PZL TV
plugged into a Sony BDVE980W Home Theater

Digital tv audio plays out of the tv internal speakers, home theater doesn't pick up any sound.

Talked to a Sony support desk lady who said i would have to disable the internal speakers within the Hisense TV to get it to output over optical, but i cant find any way to do that in the options.

any help would be much appreciated, cable is brand new and undamaged same as the home theater and tv. Both the HT and TV are emmiting a red light from the optical socket & i have tried both PCM and AC3 options on the TV's SPDIF output setting.

thanks,
milestm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 02-03-2012, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by milestm View Post

Hi, just wondering if anyone could help,

I have a Hisense 55" LED HL55T36PZL TV
plugged into a Sony BDVE980W Home Theater

Digital tv audio plays out of the tv internal speakers, home theater doesn't pick up any sound.

Talked to a Sony support desk lady who said i would have to disable the internal speakers within the Hisense TV to get it to output over optical, but i cant find any way to do that in the options.

any help would be much appreciated, cable is brand new and undamaged same as the home theater and tv. Both the HT and TV are emmiting a red light from the optical socket & i have tried both PCM and AC3 options on the TV's SPDIF output setting.

thanks,

Can you just turn off the tv's speakers? If you have optical out from the tv to your AVR you should be able to get audio with no problems. That's how mine is setup. TV reception is OTA only so I just turn off the tv's speakers (there may also be an external audio out option in the menu, I don't remember) and run an optical cable out to the AVR. However, with my AVR, there is a designated optical input for tv only so maybe your Sony is the same and you just missed it?
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 02-03-2012, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
tlalotoani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Don´t know about Sony, but my Denon had to be configurated before I could use optical, had to assign the optical input to a source.
tlalotoani is online now  
post #4 of 9 Old 02-03-2012, 05:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
milestm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally got it to work after calling hisense support.
Disconnected the optical cable from the tv
Turned the SPDIF output mode to PCM on the tv
Select the TV optical input from the TH menu
Select a DTV channel on the tv and plug in the optical cable the tv

No idea why that worked and everything else I tried didn't but hell if it works it works.
milestm is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 05-18-2013, 01:19 AM
Newbie
 
lukevt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi
what is the TH menu?
where can i find it???


i have the same issues
lukevt is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 05-18-2013, 10:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by milestm View Post

Finally got it to work after calling hisense support.

Disconnected the optical cable from the tv

Turned the SPDIF output mode to PCM on the tv

Select the TV optical input from the TH menu

Select a DTV channel on the tv and plug in the optical cable the tv


No idea why that worked and everything else I tried didn't but hell if it works it works.

Apparently your Sony home theater can only handle a PCM signal over the optical input.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 05-18-2013, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Possumgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal (L.A. area)
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukevt View Post

hi
what is the TH menu?
where can i find it???


i have the same issues

Do you have the same TV as the original post? The HTiB accepts Dolby, so PCM isn't the issue unless it's the TV that can only output PCM. Please post what you have connected where, and where you're running into a problem.
Possumgirl is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 08-02-2013, 06:51 PM
Newbie
 
techuser2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there, in my case i got already connected my audio cables (coaxes) and then connected the audio optical cable, then i turned on home theater speakers and up the volume but nothing happens.. i rather unplugged the coaxes and let only the audio optical cable next.. i can listen audio even on TV and Home teather, both of em and controling the volumen. I got Sony brand on TV and home theater. Good luck. Its a matter of play with the settings and have proper cables connected smile.gif
techuser2013 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 08-02-2013, 06:53 PM
Newbie
 
techuser2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
its about let the video input holes alone, cos the hdmi and optical audio cables do all the job on audio and video stuff. The function on the Home theater is "tv/cable". Good luck!
techuser2013 is offline  
Reply Home Theater In A Box

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off