How to ensure a home theater will display on-screen volume control? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 11 Old 02-10-2012, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, a home theater newbie here. Question for you all if you don't mind: I am looking to buy a very inexpensive set of speakers to use with my new Samsung UN46D8000 TV we just bought, since the TV speakers are pretty bad. As I understand it, I need to connect whatever speakers I buy to either an amplifier or a receiver, and then connect that to the TV. However, I need to ensure that whatever home theater setup I buy will display an on-screen volume display on the TV itself. Question is, how do I ensure that whatever home theater setup I buy will do this?

For example, I'm looking into the Samsung HT-D550 home theater system (very inexpensive, I know), and from what I'm guessing, if I connect it to the HDMI-ARC port on my TV, then it will display an on-screen volume display when I change the volume, no matter what HDMI port is currently outputting video to the TV, is that correct? Doing this, however, makes me feel like I have to buy a Samsung brand home theater system only, or else I won't get an on-screen volume control display shown, since a Samsung system uses their "Anynet+" for their HDMI-CEC control.

I know I might not being entirely articulate, but any help you could all provide would be most appreciated. I just want to make sure I get an on-screen volume display, no matter what system I buy. Thanks!

- John
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 02-10-2012, 01:14 PM

Liked: 32
If you are going to use a audio receiver to do the sound for the tv, you can only use the volume control on said audio receiver to control, not the tv, when you turn the speakers off on the tv. Even if you have the speakers on on the tv, the sound out of the audio receiver can still only be controlled from said receiver, not the tv.