Need some advice with setting up rear speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 04-08-2012, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm totally new to this. Someone's going to be giving me a home theater system for free, and I don't have a practical way to wire the rear speakers with the way my living room is setup.

I was wondering if anyone could give me any advice on whether it would be ok to place the speakers all in the front. I know it's not the best way, but will it sound okay, or at least better than not having a sound system at all? Or is there an alternative to setting up without using all the speakers.

I would like to use the blu-ray player that is built in also even if I can't wire the rear speakers. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 04-08-2012, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 220
I could be wrong but putting the side channels in front might be confusing, audio-wise as far as the sound goes. I'd just set up the system as a 3.1 and not even use the side speakers. If your environmental situation changes and you can wire the side speakers, then you're all set. Just make sure you program your system for only R/L front, center, and sub.
post #3 of 7 Old 04-08-2012, 07:28 PM

Liked: 10
What type of system do you have? Most HTIB's have a setting for ''All Fronts'', used for exactly the scenario you want.
post #4 of 7 Old 04-08-2012, 08:37 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

I could be wrong but putting the side channels in front might be confusing, audio-wise as far as the sound goes. I'd just set up the system as a 3.1 and not even use the side speakers. If your environmental situation changes and you can wire the side speakers, then you're all set. Just make sure you program your system for only R/L front, center, and sub.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluesynk View Post