How do I set up my Home Theater so that the TV's sound always comes from it? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 51 Old 06-13-2012, 11:12 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm completely new to this. I have an LG home theater system with blu-ray. How do I set it up so my TV always plays sound from this instead, even when I play DVDs from my older player? Is 1 hdmi cable attached to my HDTV good enough to do this, or do I need something else. The Blu-Ray Home Theater system only has 1 HDMI output. I don't have an HDMI cable (it's on order) so I can't test it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 51 Old 06-13-2012, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsusername View Post

I'm completely new to this. I have an LG home theater system with blu-ray. How do I set it up so my TV always plays sound from this instead, even when I play DVDs from my older player? Is 1 hdmi cable attached to my HDTV good enough to do this, or do I need something else. The Blu-Ray Home Theater system only has 1 HDMI output. I don't have an HDMI cable (it's on order) so I can't test it.

To always play audio from your HTiB, you need to connect the HDMI out from the LG HTiB to the tv. That way, when you watch BD/DVDs the audio will be heard thru the the LG and the video will be passed to the tv. Just make sure the tv audio is off or you may get echoing. To watch tv only but hear the audio thru your LG HTiB, you'll have to connect the optical out of the tv to the optical in of the LG. Just keep in mind which input you want to use and select that on the LG. I have a separate BD player for my HTS system but the connections are basically the same. HDMI In from my various devices to the AVR, one HDMI out to the tv, and an optical out from the tv to the AVR for watching tv only.
post #3 of 51 Old 06-13-2012, 05:21 PM - Thread Starter

Quote: