budget buyers remorse - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 11-28-2012, 12:04 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, noob here. I, like a lot people around here it seems, got the itch for a home theater around black friday. I currently have no audio other than the tv speakers. Room is long and skinny, 23 by 12 with TV/DVR/PS3 on one end. I was going to get a HTIB until I came to these forums and learned just how bad they were. However I was still on a real tight budget. Under $350 now, maybe another 200 or 250 after christmas. Can't really justify more than that.

After lurking on here for a couple days I got the Pioneer BS41 pair from newegg for 85 and the matching center for 49. I got the Pioneer 822k reciever for 180 from hhgregg. Planning on using the after christmas money on a sub and then eventually surrounds.

I am sitting here waiting on em to get here and am already feeling nervous about it. Wondering if it is really much of an upgrade over HTIB. Also read some posts folks having issues with the 822k and just wondering if I am doing the right thing here.

I know my budget is a sliver of most on here but is this going to be it for me as far HT goes. Probly not many upgrades for me in the near future. Any thoughts? I appreciate any feedback.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 11-28-2012, 10:21 AM

Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I say quit worrying, the things you have bought look fine, will be a massive improvement to your TV speakers and I am sure you will enjoy using them. I am still using a HTIB I bought a few years ago (does not even have HDMI, shows you its age) and still think it is a vast improvement over TV speakers.

Quit worrrying, enjoy your new items when they arrive!
post #3 of 5 Old 11-28-2012, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 260