how to get TV audio to home theater using HDMI cable - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 11-28-2012, 08:43 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rajanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

My tv has HDMI in port and don't have 3.5 mm jack. Home theaters has hdmi in and hdmi out ports. I want my tv channels audio out comes through home theaters using hdmi converter cable.

Is it possible to my TV channel audio output comes through home theater ?

Best & Regards,
Rajani
rajanis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 11-28-2012, 08:50 AM
Member
 
tre74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Look on the back of your TV for an optical output. There should be at least one optical input on your receiver(home theater). I'm guessing the TV and receiver do not have ARC.
tre74 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-28-2012, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flickhtguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 2,458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajanis View Post

Hello,
My tv has HDMI in port and don't have 3.5 mm jack. Home theaters has hdmi in and hdmi out ports. I want my tv channels audio out comes through home theaters using hdmi converter cable.
Is it possible to my TV channel audio output comes through home theater ?
Best & Regards,
Rajani

Are you using a set top box for HD Cable or Satelite??? If yes, then run an HDMI from the HD box into the receiver and then an HDMI from the receiver into the TV.

Shawn
flickhtguru is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 11-28-2012, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 238
...or, you can connect your cable box to the Cable/OTA input of your tv using a coax cable. That way, your tv's ATSC tuner (I'm assuming it has one) is used and you can output 5.1 audio (if the programming has it) to the receiver using an optical cable (turning off the tv's speakers first). You just need to make sure that you select the correct input on the receiver (optical/tv).
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-28-2012, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rajanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajanis View Post

Hello,
My tv has HDMI in port and don't have 3.5 mm jack. Home theaters has hdmi in and hdmi out ports. I want my tv channels audio out comes through home theaters using hdmi converter cable.
Is it possible to my TV channel audio output comes through home theater ?
Best & Regards,
Rajani

Quote:
Originally Posted by tre74 View Post

Look on the back of your TV for an optical output. There should be at least one optical input on your receiver(home theater). I'm guessing the TV and receiver do not have ARC.
yes mt tv and home theater don't have ARC...
rajanis is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-28-2012, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rajanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for information... I am using HD cable... I need TV channel audio output ( ex : cricket match audio) comes through home theaters speakers....
rajanis is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-28-2012, 08:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
I am using HD cable...

Does that mean you have a cable box or not? And what model TV do you have, I would think all of them have a optical output by now.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 11-29-2012, 03:53 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rajanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have cable box. i am using local cable channel. My TV model is Toshiba Regza 32HV10 LCD TV (this is basic model, no USB option also and one HDMI in port ).
rajanis is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 12-04-2012, 11:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rajanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have cable box. i am using local cable channel. My TV model is Toshiba Regza 32HV10 LCD TV (this is basic model, no USB option also and one HDMI in port )
rajanis is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 12-05-2012, 08:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 381
According to the manual your TV doesn't have a an optical out or stereo outputs at all.
http://www.regza-asia.com/pdf/HV10/19-24-32HV10Series-OM.PDF

Single HDMI input
component input with stereo audio jacks
composite input with stereo audio jacks

no audio outputs at all.

this must be an older LCD tv?

since you don't have a cable box or anything I don't see a way to connect the TV to your receiver.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
Reply Home Theater In A Box

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off