onkyo ht-s3500 won't output full HD video - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-14-2013, 12:31 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
iElessar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello.

I just got my Onkyo HT-S3500 (ht-r391 receiver) but there is a problem. It does not show any signal with full HD.

I have:

PS3
Xbox 360
Wii U
Blu-Ray Player

All are connected to the AV receiver via HDMI. Sound is output fine and I can hear it just fine. However, video does not show if my devices are set to Full HD 1080p.

When I configure my Xbox 360, PS3, or Wii U to 480p, I get video signal. However, when I setup them to output 1080p the screen goes black.

As for the blu-player, I can't get any video signal since it runs 1080p by default and I cannot configure it with a lower resolution.

Even setting them to 720p results in the same issue.

And this is the TV I'm using - http://www.lg.com/za/tvs/lg-47LV3710-led-tv

I've also tried a factory reset, still no luck.

What's the problem here? And how can I fix it?
Thanks in advance.
iElessar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-18-2013, 05:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 21
What happens when you hook up the devices directly to the tv? Did you try a different hdmi cable to output to tv?
mikepier is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-18-2013, 08:28 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
iElessar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I have my sources configured to 1080p, the TV goes black telling me no signal. I can only hear audio.

Yes I tried swapping HDMI cables and all of them result in the same problem. I even got a replacement from the dealer, same thing.

Setting them to 1080i works fine though.
iElessar is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-19-2013, 10:37 PM
Member
 
ohioviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chillicothe, Ohio
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To my knowledge the only one of those that can do 1080P is the PS3.
ohioviper is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-20-2013, 03:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by iElessar View Post

If I have my sources configured to 1080p, the TV goes black telling me no signal. I can only hear audio.
Is that when connected directly to the TV, per mikepier's question? If so, the problem would not be the receiver.
BIslander is online now  
Reply Home Theater In A Box

Tags
Onkyo Ht S3500 5 1 Channel Home Theater Speaker Receiver Package
Gear in this thread - S3500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off