Newbee question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 86 Old 02-25-2013, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
420 benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an Onkyo HT-S590 and a Samsung 8000 series Smart TV. I am connected to a Direct TV DVR via Optical cable from the TV to the top optical input on the receiver. I also have an optical cable. Also an optical cable from the receiver to the DVR. My problem is that when I opt to view a movie on Netflix,I can not get Netflix to play in Surround Sound. All TV Channels work just fine through V2 on the receiver.I have spent hr's playing with all of the inputs on the receiver but to no avail. Need help.
420 benz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 86 Old 02-25-2013, 09:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phil17108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 53
May be that Netflix does not send 5.1 or the optical out put from the set is only stereo. try using some other listening mode. check page 46/47 in owners manual. The DirecTV DVR does output 5.1 if available in there content. an easy test is try off air tuner and see what you get.
Phil17108 is online now  
post #3 of 86 Old 02-25-2013, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
420 benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This problem happened when I moved the TV from a console to the wall. That's when this problem started. It worked great before.
420 benz is offline  
post #4 of 86 Old 02-25-2013, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 130
420 benz first posted this issue in the Surround Music forum and a couple of us couldn't get him to a solution. To clarify what I think his situation is - Netflix comes from his TV and he only hears sound from the TV speakers, not from his sound system.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1459868/newbee-question#post_23006874
BIslander is online now  
post #5 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 08:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
420 benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is not completely true. I only here SS from the TV but when the TV is playing a Netflix movie. No mater what I change on the Receiver V1-V2- V3 nothing will put Netflix through the Receiver. The only way to hear Netflix is through the TV speakers. Regular TV programs will play in SS on V-2.
420 benz is offline  
post #6 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 08:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
420 benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BTW: Everything you guys told me to do like assigning TV to different inputs on the Receiver works BUT it is only for the TV.
What I don't understand is since Netflix is coming from the TV why won't the sound come through the Receiver.
420 benz is offline  
post #7 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by 420 benz View Post

This problem happened when I moved the TV from a console to the wall. That's when this problem started. It worked great before.

If it worked as you say it did when it was mounted on a console, and the only thing you've done is wall mount it, then it sounds like something may have gotten damaged in the process if you have it cabled exactly the same way it was when you had it on the console.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #8 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by 420 benz View Post

BTW: Everything you guys told me to do like assigning TV to different inputs on the Receiver works BUT it is only for the TV.
What I don't understand is since Netflix is coming from the TV why won't the sound come through the Receiver.
When you say "works BUT only for the TV", are you referring to Direct TV programs? If I understand how you have things connected, the audio from Direct TV does not originate on the television set. Rather, it comes from the DVR and is atttached to the receiver as Optical 1, which is assigned to V2 on the receiver input selector/remote. Meanwhile, in your other thread, you said Netflix originates on your Smart TV, but you only get sound from it through the TV speakers. Is that correct?
BIslander is online now  
post #9 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
420 benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

When you say "works BUT only for the TV", are you referring to Direct TV programs? If I understand how you have things connected, the audio from Direct TV does not originate on the television set. Rather, it comes from the DVR and is atttached to the receiver as Optical 1, which is assigned to V2 on the receiver input selector/remote. Meanwhile, in your other thread, you said Netflix originates on your Smart TV, but you only get sound from it through the TV speakers. Is that correct?
YES.
420 benz is offline  
post #10 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 01:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 130
OK. So far, so good.

Is the cable from the TV plugged into Optical 2?

If so, what receiver input selector is assigned to Optical 2? See p35 of the manual, which explains how to find that information. (The chart on p35 shows the default assignments, which you may have changed at some point. So, you need to see which AVR selector name is currently associated with Optical 2 before proceeding.)
BIslander is online now  
post #11 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
420 benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is an HDMI cable from TV to DVR an optical cable from the (only opt.output ) DVR to one of two outputs on the receiver. By using the directions on page 35 V2 is dedicated to SS. But it only works with TV programs.
420 benz is offline  
post #12 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 130
OK. The HDMI cable from the DVR to the TV should not affect anything. It is used to feed video to the TV. (The HDMI audio output could also drive the TV speakers if you didn't want to use the sound system. But, that's not what is happening here.)

So, what about the questions I asked re: the optical cable from the TV to the receiver? That's the next step in this process.

btw, the DVR and TV have optical OUTPUTS. The receiver has optical INPUTS. And to avoid confusion about your devices, please refer to the actual equipment rather than talking about sound from "TV programs". In other words, when you select a show on the Direct TV set top box, you get audio from the receiver speakers. But, when you use Netflix on the television set, you get audio from the TV speakers and not from the receiver speakers.
BIslander is online now  
post #13 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 03:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
420 benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is correct. I put a program on the TV. Then I put a movie on Netflix. Sound only comes from TV program. Now if I turn on the receiver the SS comes from the TV program not Netflix.
420 benz is offline  
post #14 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
420 benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only way to here Netflix is through the TV speakers.
420 benz is offline  
post #15 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Let's try again. Please answer these questions:

Is the cable from the TV plugged into Optical 2 on the receiver?

If so, what receiver input selector is assigned to Optical 2? See p35 of the manual, which explains how to find that information. (The chart on p35 shows the default assignments, which you may have changed at some point. So, you need to see which AVR selector name is currently associated with Optical 2 before proceeding.)
BIslander is online now  
post #16 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
420 benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That cable I set to V2 as per page 35. The CD button works on V2 (only for the TV).
Like I said before there is no optical input dedicated to V2.
420 benz is offline  
post #17 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 130
That doesn't answer he questions I asked. Let's start with the first question only.

There's an optical cable from the television set output to a receiver input. Which receiver input is it, Optical 2?
BIslander is online now  
post #18 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
420 benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
V2
420 benz is offline  
post #19 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 03:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 130
V2 is not the physical input. V2 is the selector name that can be associated with several different inputs. So, I am asking which of the two physical inputs on the back of the receiver has the optical cable from the television set. It has to be either Optical 1 or Optical 2.
BIslander is online now  
post #20 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
420 benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am such an idiot. I just pulled both Opt. Cables out and after cleaning the inputs I found a 1 and a 2.The Opt. Cable from the TV is in Opt.
420 benz is offline  
post #21 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Opt. ???
BIslander is online now  
post #22 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 03:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
420 benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Opt. 1
420 benz is offline  
post #23 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 130
So, which receiver selector input is assigned to Optical 1? That's the chart described on p35 of the manual. (Again - the chart in the manual shows the default assignments. We need to know the actual assignments as yours may be different from the defaults.)
BIslander is online now  
post #24 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 04:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
420 benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think it is assigned to anything.
420 benz is offline  
post #25 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 130
That could explain why it is not working. Try assigning Optical 1 to "Video 1/VCR"
BIslander is online now  
post #26 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 04:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
420 benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still no SS on Netflix.
420 benz is offline  
post #27 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 130
So, to confirm...
1. The optical cable from the TV set is plugged into Optical 1 on the receiver.
2. You have assigned Video 1/VCR to Optical 1.
3. When you select V1 as the source on the remote, what do you get?
p37 of the manual explains how you can display the format information of the audio arriving on an input.
BIslander is online now  
post #28 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 04:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
420 benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why is there a V3 when there is only two Opt. Inputs? Is V3 for component -composite cables.
420 benz is offline  
post #29 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Let's leave that until later. For now, what audio format arrives on V1 when you play Netflix on the television set?
BIslander is online now  
post #30 of 86 Old 02-26-2013, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
420 benz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3. It says Video 1 46 (volume )
When I press Receiver + Multi Ch I get DVD + 46
When I press Receiver + Display I get Video 1 then V1 + listening mode
420 benz is offline  
Reply Home Theater In A Box

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off