Onkyo S3500 with Energy Take Classic 5.1 Worth It? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 16 Old 03-21-2013, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello.

I currently have the Onkyo S3500 HITB. I know I can change the speakers out, but I was wondering if in the future I decided to get the Energy Take classics....would it be worth it? I mean, I'm still learning about surround sound and stuff and read that the only gripe with the HITB I bought was the unpowered subwoofer.

Would it be best to just get another home theater set up in the future (powered sub next time around) or upgrade my current unit? I can always use the S3500 in another room. I'm just curious is all. Thanks!biggrin.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 03-21-2013, 05:52 PM

Liked: 12
GOOD NEWS!!!! (maybe top gear watchers will get that reference)

The Sub that is included in the take classic set has speaker level inputs... this means you can pair that powered sub with the 3500.

I think that the Take Classic is a better level of speaker than the included ones. This will probably be a noticable improvement but weather it will be worth it? That is harder to say... there are people who pay thousands to hear maybe a 1% difference.

Good luck smile.gif

post #3 of 16 Old 04-11-2014, 08:42 AM

I'm wondering as well what the quality of sound difference between these two would be? Any other opinions? Thanks.
post #4 of 16 Old 04-11-2014, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Listen to them if you can and let your ears decide. The Classics have a better "reputation" than the Onkyo-supplied speakers. Probably a step up in quality/sound but not a huge leap.
post #5 of 16 Old 04-11-2014, 10:07 AM

Yeah I wish I could hear the classics. No stores around me carry them to listen to. It's all word of mouth and user reviews unfortunately.
post #6 of 16 Old 04-11-2014, 10:09 AM