Energy Classic Take 5.1 without Receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 03-25-2013, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
airan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I am a newbie. I have LCD46C650 TV. I am fond of FullHD content so focus of my requirement is Movies, other video content.

I am thinking of connecting my TV with Energy Classic Take 5.1 or similar system. Can i connect it directly to the TV or i need a receiver in between ?

Please advice.

Best Regards
Amit
airan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 03-25-2013, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 843
No, you'll need an avr or integrated amp with those speakers (but an avr is usually cheaper way to go for multichannel)

lovinthehd is online now  
post #3 of 19 Old 03-25-2013, 10:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
airan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello loveinthehd

Thanks.

I just formulated 3 cases for my TV LN46C650.
.

Below are the things i am trying to achieve

1) Have 5.1 sound when playing any movie from TV ( Input source is from setup box)
2) Have 5.1 sound when playing any movie via Allshare ( input source can be any all share device on network)
3) Have 5.1 sound when playing any movie via USB

However, the manual of TV has confused me.. It appears that my TV doesnt decode 5.1 .

http://downloadcenter.samsung.com/content/UM/201009/20100906130822796/[LC650-ZA]BN68-02541A-04Eng.pdf




iven this information, what can i put in between the TV and Speaker so that i can get 5.1 sound for all the 3 cases i mentioned ?
G
please advice.

Thanks
Amit
airan is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 03-26-2013, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 135
TVs are stereo devices. So, no they don't decode except from their own internal tuners or Smart TV apps. As noted in the other thread where you posted the same issue, you need a receiver. The set top box would be plugged into the receiver for audio, not to the TV. Most sets do not pass encoded multichannel audio from external devices. I doubt you'll have much luck getting 5.1 in the other two scenarios if you use the TV as the acquisition device. You may have better luck getting a receiver with networking and a USB input.
BIslander is online now  
post #5 of 19 Old 03-26-2013, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by airan View Post

Hello loveinthehd

Thanks.

I just formulated 3 cases for my TV LN46C650.
.

Below are the things i am trying to achieve

1) Have 5.1 sound when playing any movie from TV ( Input source is from setup box)
2) Have 5.1 sound when playing any movie via Allshare ( input source can be any all share device on network)
3) Have 5.1 sound when playing any movie via USB

However, the manual of TV has confused me.. It appears that my TV doesnt decode 5.1 .

http://downloadcenter.samsung.com/content/UM/201009/20100906130822796/[LC650-ZA]BN68-02541A-04Eng.pdf




iven this information, what can i put in between the TV and Speaker so that i can get 5.1 sound for all the 3 cases i mentioned ?
G
please advice.

Thanks
Amit

Like Bislander says, you would plug your set top box (assuming it has 5.1 capability of course) into the avr tthen to the tv from the avr as most TVs will only output multichannel through an optical output to your avr and even then often only for OTA (over the air broadcast) content. Allshare is just another brand name for HDMI-CEC, and not all brands play together well, what source would you have that has 5.1 content? USB into the tv may not play back other than in 2.0. Stop thinking about your tv as the central unit and start thinking about an avr as being the central unit. On a computer you wouldn't look to route every peripheral through a monitor directly would you?

lovinthehd is online now  
post #6 of 19 Old 03-26-2013, 10:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
airan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Guys,

So one thing is clear .>I need a receiver. Can you suggest something ~$250 which works like

(1) a good receiver
(2) has networking support specially for DLNA
(3) has USB Plug and play for all popular audio and video formats
airan is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 03-26-2013, 11:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 843
Saw in another thread the Pioneer 1022 on sale at Amazon for that price. http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-VSX-1022-K-7-Channel-Receiver-Network/dp/B007O5ATC8 You'll have to determine the extent of the usb capabilities, not sure what they are.

lovinthehd is online now  
post #8 of 19 Old 03-27-2013, 02:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
airan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks lovinthehd,

I checked and it doesn't play USB videos. Only Audio. God, i dont want to add a player just when my TV can play every damm content via USB.

I will do more research on

1) Can TV give 5.1 out while playing video via USB
2) Can TV give 5.1 out while playing video via DLNA.

If above 2 are true, then i can go with any receiver.

Thanks.
airan is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 03-27-2013, 02:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
airan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some more update.

I tried the following

1) Play 5.1 sound movie via USB on my TV. When i go to settings -->Sound Settings --> Bottom of Menu --> SPDIF Audio Output Format --> Default is PCM. Click on Left arrow and it changes to 'Dolby Digital' (5.1 ch)

2) Same for playing movie with 5.1 over DLNA.

Does it implies that TV can output 5.1 sound when playing via USB and DLNA ?.

Thanks
airan is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 03-27-2013, 05:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Not necessarily. All TVs can do DD when the source is their own internal tuners or apps they acquire themselves. But, that doesn't mean they can pass through DD or DTS from external devices. Most cannot. If the manual doesn't make that clear, and it may not, try contacting customer support for your TV or posting the question in the Display forum.
BIslander is online now  
post #11 of 19 Old 03-27-2013, 09:51 AM
Member
 
Nick_si's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by airan View Post

(3) has USB Plug and play for all popular audio and video formats

I have never seen a receiver that decodes video, doesn't mean it doesn't exsist but don't hold your breath.

It seems like you have a work around with your TV pushing DD or DTS when using DLNA as a source...

This is exactly why I think TVs should have stayed dumb.

Nick_si is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 03-27-2013, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by airan View Post

Some more update.

I tried the following

1) Play 5.1 sound movie via USB on my TV. When i go to settings -->Sound Settings --> Bottom of Menu --> SPDIF Audio Output Format --> Default is PCM. Click on Left arrow and it changes to 'Dolby Digital' (5.1 ch)

2) Same for playing movie with 5.1 over DLNA.

Does it implies that TV can output 5.1 sound when playing via USB and DLNA ?.

Thanks

That's what it implies, doesn't the manual confirm?

lovinthehd is online now  
post #13 of 19 Old 03-28-2013, 06:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
airan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To Lovinthehd : Manual is silent on this part. Manual only talks about Tuner and HDMI INPUT.

Anyways, GOOD NEWS ..I confirmed with a buddy (very very trusted source). TV Tuner Decoding, USB decoding and streaming decoding ( Exclude Samsung Apps like Hulu or Netflix) pass via same decoder. Apps can be doing their own magic ..so he couldnt comment about Apps part.

in Nutshell, if the content has DD, the SPDIF OUT menu option will allow to select DOLBY..and SPDIF will give DD output.

Great ..Saves me from buying another PLAYER BOX

Thanks a lot guys.
airan is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 03-28-2013, 08:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
in Nutshell, if the content has DD, the SPDIF OUT menu option will allow to select DOLBY and SPDIF will give DD output.

I think the jury is still out on that assumption. I can believe tuner and streaming can do DD 5.1 but not sure about USB.

I'm sure you'll confirm once you get your new receiver connected.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 04-05-2013, 07:05 PM
Member
 
jds54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Recently bought Energy Take 5.1 and Marantz NR1403.
Fanatastic setup used in my home office.
Sounds as good as my larger Klipsch/Marantz systems.
Highly recommend Marantz AVR's
jds54 is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 04-09-2013, 09:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
airan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Out of curiosity.. does it have any power source ?

I am thinking of buying it from US ..but the voltage in US is 110V but here it is 220V.

Please advice.
airan is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 04-10-2013, 08:50 PM
Member
 
Nick_si's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
speakers translate just fine as they are passive. most receivers have a 220v 110v switch

Nick_si is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 04-10-2013, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by airan View Post

Out of curiosity.. does it have any power source ?

I am thinking of buying it from US ..but the voltage in US is 110V but here it is 220V.

Please advice.

The Take sub I have is 120V (the normal US voltage), and no switch for 220.

lovinthehd is online now  
post #19 of 19 Old 04-11-2013, 01:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
airan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys ..That means i can safely buy speakers from US and Sub Woofer from here only smile.gif..

Still will save me at least $300
airan is offline  
Reply Home Theater In A Box

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off