5.1 audio PC setup problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 07-13-2013, 03:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
willrod29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have a computer that I want to use as an HTPC and as a PC as well, splitting the hdmi signal through a 4x2 switch feeding my monitor in my office and the other hdmi signal going into my home theater room next door. The issue I am having is that I can't get sound through my receiver in the home theater room. Only in my office do I get sound. I tried messing with the sound card settings, which is capable of delivering 5.1 but it does not send 5.1 to my receiver, only stereo 2 channels when watching bluray movies. The speakers in my office work fine which is only 2 channels, just can't get my home theater sound to work right. Please help. Do I need to buy another sound card? Not sure how this works. I thought by having the hdmi switch, this would send the proper audio to my receiver but it doesn't work. I need to be able to switch between audio/video in my office and my home theater room from my PC. Thanks in advance.
willrod29 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 07-13-2013, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,414
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 255
To quote alk3997 from the HDMI forum: "You still have to remember that your source, the HTPC in this case, can only send one audio and one video signal over an HDMI cable at any time. And, it has to send a compatible signal with *all* sinks." I've edited some of the quote to match your situation but the basics may apply here which could explain the problem. Can you get either one to work ok if the other one is not receiving any signal?
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 07-13-2013, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
willrod29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I can get it to send video to both the pc monitor and my Pioneer receiver which is connected to my TV. However, I could only get sound to the office speakers and if I do get sound to the receiver, it's only stereo 2 ch.
willrod29 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 07-13-2013, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
willrod29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

To quote alk3997 from the HDMI forum: "You still have to remember that your source, the HTPC in this case, can only send one audio and one video signal over an HDMI cable at any time. And, it has to send a compatible signal with *all* sinks." I've edited some of the quote to match your situation but the basics may apply here which could explain the problem. Can you get either one to work ok if the other one is not receiving any signal?

The output from my PC goes through the switch which then outputs to my PC monitor and also outputs to my home theater receiver. Now thinking what you said? I noticed that the output on my switch outputs simultaneously to the PC monitor and my HT receiver. Maybe I need a switch that could turn off either output. But since my office is only a 2 channel speaker and HT receiver is a 5.1, I may still encounter a problem when I switch from one output to the other... ???
willrod29 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 07-14-2013, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,414
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 255
What I would do is physically connect one setup at at time and see what happens. If your HTS works as expected for audio and video with no other physical connection to the office, the opposite should be true as well. At least you'll know that it's not your components and it's the way your pushing the signal(s).
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 07-15-2013, 06:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
willrod29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

What I would do is physically connect one setup at at time and see what happens. If your HTS works as expected for audio and video with no other physical connection to the office, the opposite should be true as well. At least you'll know that it's not your components and it's the way your pushing the signal(s).
Thank you! I got it working!!!
willrod29 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 07-15-2013, 08:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,414
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 255
What did you do?
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 07-15-2013, 10:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
willrod29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

What did you do?
I had to mess around with the sound card settings while I switched over to the home theater which it didn't let me do while I was on my office monitor. That's why I was having a hard time. So I have to change the sound settings when I switch over to my home theater but it works better than I expected.
willrod29 is offline  
Reply Home Theater In A Box

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off