Onkyo ht-s5500 - can you control the start up source ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 10-25-2013, 12:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bobbee25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought the Onkyo ht-s5500, nice sound.

If the receiver is off and I turn on the TV, the receiver will come on, but it always automatically starts with the TV/CD selection. Hence no sound.
I did something and was able to get the video with either the TV/CD or Sat/Cable buttons, but no audio with the TV/CD.

It would be great if when the TV is turned on the Onkyo would come up on in the Sat/Cable input (Which is the TV) or if I could get the sound with the TV/CD.

Ideas appreciated.
bobbee25 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 10-25-2013, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Harmony remote. I do exactly that with OTA. When I tell the Harmony to "Watch TV, the receiver turns on to the appropriate input as does the tv. If I tell the Harmony to "Watch Movie", the receiver turns on to the appropriate input, the blu-ray turns on, and the tv turns on as well. Switching between the "sources" is just as easy. When I turn off the Harmony, all devices turn off.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 10-25-2013, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bobbee25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which Harmony would you recommend ?
bobbee25 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 10-26-2013, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 227
I have an old Harmony 880 that works great. Harmony One seems to be a decent remote (albeit a bit pricey). You might want to ask in the Remotes Forum for detailed info.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #5 of 7 Old 10-28-2013, 05:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bobbee25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


Sometimes when the Onkyo is shut off and I turn on the tv, I can use the tv speakers. But it appears inconsistent.
Whenever I turn on the Onkyo and select the Sat/Cbl the Onkyo sound works.

There isn't any consistency with the tv sound when I turn on the TV, Onkyo is turned off..

Turn on just the tv, no sound.
Turn on the tv and tv sound works.

(I ordered a Harmony 650)

bobbee25 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 10-28-2013, 07:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bobbee25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


Sometimes when the Onkyo is shut off and I turn on the tv, I can use the tv speakers. But it appears inconsistent.
Whenever I turn on the Onkyo and select the Sat/Cbl the Onkyo sound works.

There isn't any consistency with the tv sound when I turn on the TV, Onkyo is turned off..

Turn on just the tv, no sound.
Turn on the tv and tv sound works.

(I ordered a Harmony 650)

bobbee25 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 10-28-2013, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 227
The 650 is a nice entry Harmony. It's limited to 4 devices I think, so if you have more than 4 devices to control you'll have to choose which ones you want to operate with the Harmony.
Otto Pylot is online now  
Reply Home Theater In A Box

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off