Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 06-26-2014, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thoughts on this system?

Hey Everyone,

I have been shopping around for about a month now for an okay entry level system for my new home theater. The room is fairly small (10 x 15) and I have a 100 inch fixed frame screen and a BenQ W1070. What do you guys think of this setup?

http://www.bestbuy.ca/en-CA/product/...0fce194037en02

Should also mention that I would like to stay around the $300 range and under $500. If I can get a very big upgrade, I am willing to push the budget a bit.

If you know of any good deals or have any suggestions (I am a complete audio noob), they would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Jay

Last edited by JayRich1; 06-26-2014 at 06:31 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 06-30-2014, 11:42 PM - Thread Starter

Any thoughts on this or any other system? Thanks.
post #3 of 6 Old 07-01-2014, 10:08 AM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Buy your 5.1 receiver (Yamaha, etc) for about $200 on sale, and then get/catch good bookshelf speakers on sale for the 5.0 speakers. You can always add a sub-woofer if you need/want one on down the road for about (Polk/Amazon) $89.

For example, Amazon has the Infinity P153 speaker on sale for $45 (back ordered under more buying choices) so 5 would run you $225 and then you have good speakers (check out the good reviews...which can be misleading) for a little money. (Pioneer has good speakers for about the same price during a sale.)

I went cheap in March of this year and I have already replaced my 5.1 Energy speakers ($299 to $385) just because they sound cheap/plain/weak. I made a $300 mistake right off the bat with going "cheap" and taking good reviews (Amazon/on-line...first time good reviews have ever let me down) seriously. A two inch driver/speaker (Energy) will never sound like a 5 plus inch driver/speaker (Infinity/Pioneer).