AVS Forum banner

small living room budget system recommendation please

1K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  Dustin McClelland 
#1 ·
Hi all
I'm a student so my budget is somewhat limited and I've been eyeing the onkyo atmos HTIB for 799.99 or 499.99 refurbished, but I've heard mixed review on atmos. I understand HTIB will never be as good as customized setup but I am no audiophile. I am just looking for a set up that will give me "wow" whenever I play games or watch movie by myself or with a group of friends. I would like to use this setup for music as well. I guess I'm looking for a setup that is decent enough to wow me in all its usage (movies, games, music)

1. Is onkyo's atmos HTIB receiver good for future speaker upgrade? I understand it's a 5.1.2 receiver but I don't know if it can be upgraded to 7.1. At this moment I don't think 7.1 means anything to me in the near future

2. What kind of decent (not great, not even good, just decent) set up can I get with $800.

3. My living room will be 14x11 and I am using an old crappy sony HTIB

Sorry if this is too amateurish that hurts your professional eyes ha

#2 ·
7.1 is only truly effective if you can place speakers behind the sitting area. So if you've got the space, or plan on having it in the future, I'd get a 7.1 capable system. You don't have to use the speakers behind you if you can't and just configure the system for 5.1. Some love Atmos, some can take it or leave it. I think it's more hype than anything else for entry level systems but I'm sure there are those that disagree. For the most part, great speakers can make a mediocre receiver sound great but bad speakers can make a great receiver sound bad. Most speakers that come with HTiB systems are ok for what they are. Usually when you purchase an HTiB you're purchasing the receiver and not necessarily the speakers. I think the tendency is to keep the receiver longer than the original speakers. What is the model of Onkyo you are looking at?