Recommendations for a small room - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 11-30-2015, 08:59 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Recommendations for a small room

FYI, I'm a HT newbie.. so please be gentle.

Just moved to a small apartment with hardwood floors.
I picked up a 65" TV and was planning on getting a Vizio 4051 soundbar with wireless sub/satallites.
However, I'm curious if I am making a mistake with the soundbar all-in-one deal. (And I have concerns after reading negatives about the minimum volume/constant hum on that subwoofer)

I'd rather not spend more than $300, but I could rationalize a little more if it meant significant improvement to sound quality and features.
Also, my TV stand has room on either side of the TV, and a soundbar might not actually fit on top of the TV stand.. So narrow/tall speakers would look great there.

So, all of that being said, here's what I'm looking for:
1. ARC so that I don't need a separate remote.
a. This does not limit my ability to do 5.1 sound does it? Are there any drawbacks to this or a reason why I shouldn't use this?

2. Wireless sub+satellites - Not willing to run wires to the back

3. Setting that uses all four speakers so that I can fill the room better with music.

Anyway, I'm totally willing and capable of doing this piece by piece, but that wireless requirement might make that tougher..

Thanks in advance!
-Stephen
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 11-30-2015, 10:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1235 Post(s)
Liked: 795