SPDIF --> Optical Home Theater - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 05-25-2006, 07:34 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
peeweejd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I'm a noob when it comes to this stuff. I'm also not an audiophile.

Here is my setup:
TV: Phillips 30PW9100D
HT: Sony DAV-FC7 home theater/dvd all in one cheapo

I used to route the audio out on my TV to the audio in on my HT so whatever was playing on the TV could come over the HT speakers.

I got a new TV recently and there is no audio out (red/white RCA jacks). Instead there is an optical SPDIF connection that looks like a dull orange RCA style connector.

My Home theater has a more generic looking optical in connection.

Can someone help me figure a way to hook the two up?

edit:
Here is what the back of my TV looks like
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...eejd/spdif.jpg

Here is what the back of my home theater looks like
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...ht_optical.jpg
peeweejd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 05-25-2006, 07:34 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
peeweejd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this rule sucks, sorry
peeweejd is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 05-25-2006, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
peeweejd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is what the back of my TV looks like
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...eejd/spdif.jpg

Here is what the back of my home theater looks like
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...ht_optical.jpg
peeweejd is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 05-25-2006, 08:03 AM
 
Targus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Instead there is an optical SPDIF connection that looks like a dull orange RCA style connector
The orange RCA connector is not an optical connector.
You need to convert an electrical SPDIF signal into an optical SPDIF signal for your receiver.
Targus is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 05-25-2006, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bailey151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 68
The orange connector on the TV is digital coxial connection (a 75ohm cable w/ RCA connectors). Looks to me like that's an input & not an output (given that it's with all the other inputs). On the back of the "home theater" you have a digital optical input. While both carry the same signal they can't be connected to each other (without some intermediary device)...............

Options:

#1 - What is feeding the sound to the TV? If it's a cable box or satellite box it might have an optical output. Of course given you only have 1 on the "home theater" you might save that for the DVD player (unless it's built in????)

#2 - Had to see in the pic but none of those L/R (red & white) are audio out? Seems strange, has a coax in but no audio out.

Since the "home theater" has the inputs I'd run the audio directly there - from the TV feed & the DVD player (see above) - skip sending the audio to the TV altogether.

Checking the hookup guide @ Philips I see it does have an optical out?

http://www.p4c.philips.com/na4/3/30p...37_hug_aen.pdf

The one on the far right - is yours older/newer? (I didn't see all those I/Os in your pic).

It's just my opinion & it's worth exactly what you paid for it.
Bailey151 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 05-25-2006, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
peeweejd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the quick replies guys :)

This TV is used primarily for video games. Right now, there is an Xbox and Xbox 360 hooked up to it. There is no cable box hooked up (just the plain old standard def coax cable).

The 360 has an optical output that I could plug into my home theater. I'll probably end up doing that anyway.

I'd prefer to to send whatever is coming out of the TV to the home theater though, that way I can listen to the TV signal and either Xbox without having to dick around with the source button on my home theater.

If thats not an optical output on the TV then I imagine that I'll need some extraneous converter box to do this. I prolly wont bother then.

ps: the pics I linked are all the connections I have. I dont have a set of red/white audio out jacks. It makes me sorta mad actually.
peeweejd is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 05-25-2006, 11:26 AM
 
Targus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
From the pic, it looks like you have svideo, composite, L/R audio and a headphone jack for OUTPUTS.
Targus is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 05-25-2006, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
gm2376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thats definetly a coxial audio out for your componet connection.
gm2376 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 05-25-2006, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
peeweejd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Targus
From the pic, it looks like you have svideo, composite, L/R audio and a headphone jack for OUTPUTS.
The S-Video and red/white/yellow are actually inputs. They are on the side of the TV. The headphone connection is an output though. Sorry, I should have made that clear in my first post.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gm2376
thats definetly a coxial audio out for your componet connection.
Is there some kind of converter that can convert that to red/white RCA jacks? I'm not an audiophile and PLII is ok with me.
peeweejd is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 05-25-2006, 08:21 PM
Senior Member
 
gm2376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by peeweejd


Is there some kind of converter that can convert that to red/white RCA jacks? I'm not an audiophile and PLII is ok with me.
As far as i know, you cant't convert a digital output to an analog one
gm2376 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 05-26-2006, 07:28 AM
 
Targus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes, there are outboard DACs, or you could use a receiver with digital input...it has DACs as well.

Converting a digital audio signal to analog is necessary, and done all the time.
Targus is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater In A Box

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off