another s790 setup how to - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 01-17-2007, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i was wondering what would be the most efficient way to hook these devices up to the onkyo reciever...

Sony KDL40S2000 40" Bravia Flat Panel LCD HDTV
http://www.amazon.com/Sony-KDL40S200.../dp/B000EP1IKW

Xbox 360

and a PC

i'm a complete noob at this kind of stuff but let me give it a go and you can tell me what I'm doing worng...

i would connect the xbox 360 --> reciever via optical audio cable, tv audio --> reciever via optical audio cable, tv video --> reciever via component video cable, xbox 360 video --> tv via component video cable

sorry but 1 more question, how in the world do i go about hooking the computer up to the reciever? my sound card doesn't support 5.1 but its does support 2.1...can it be hooked up to the reciever but only play 2.1?

thx so much for all the replies!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 01-18-2007, 07:40 AM - Thread Starter

anyone please? I was planning on buying the mentioned cables today sometime and your comments woudl really be appreciated, thx
post #3 of 15 Old 01-18-2007, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 13
No one can answer this exactly because they don't know your preference in hooking everything up but here's the basics.

What you'll need is an audio cable and a video cable for each source. You can choose to run the video through the receiver as most do and use it as a video switcher as as well as audio or you can run video straight to the tv. As far as what cables you'll need no one can really answer that because you'll have to see what your souce components use. I would guess digital optical or digital coaxial for audio for each component and probably composite or component video. You'll just have to check and see what they use.