Official Samsung HT-AS720 thread w. updated first post. - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 1649 Old 10-24-2007, 11:56 AM
Member
 
Chekoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amel View Post

one more thing

redlikefire02,

when choosing what audio option you would like to see the movie, did you try PCM? did it go through, did you loose any sound?

edit: you know what, I will go and get this thing from my local BB store and check it out myself, lol

Watching Hellboy and Troy from my PS3 I found LPCM to have better audio quality, you can hear EVERYTHING!! even the little pieces of glass falling to the floor..
Chekoman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 1649 Old 10-24-2007, 01:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Amel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clearwater Fl
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chekoman View Post

Watching Hellboy and Troy from my PS3 I found LPCM to have better audio quality, you can hear EVERYTHING!! even the little pieces of glass falling to the floor..

did you choose the PCM audio option of the movie?

I have the Samsung Q85 and I can hear everything, I mean the sound is great, but I heard that PCM is much better

Blu-Ray Supporter
Amel is offline  
post #273 of 1649 Old 10-25-2007, 05:10 AM
Member
 
Chekoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amel View Post

did you choose the PCM audio option of the movie?

I have the Samsung Q85 and I can hear everything, I mean the sound is great, but I heard that PCM is much better

yes
Chekoman is offline  
post #274 of 1649 Old 10-26-2007, 01:17 AM
Newbie
 
jayimsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello audio newbie here,

If I use ps3 + xbox 360 for the HDMI input, how could i setup the wii and my cable box with this receiver since it has no component inputs?

Do you guys think this might be too much for a small bedroom and look into other alternatives?
jayimsu is offline  
post #275 of 1649 Old 10-26-2007, 01:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
redlikefire02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayimsu View Post

Hello audio newbie here,

If I use ps3 + xbox 360 for the HDMI input, how could i setup the wii and my cable box with this receiver since it has no component inputs?

Do you guys think this might be too much for a small bedroom and look into other alternatives?


use the digital inputs such as optical. it will be amazing in a bedroom, it will fill it with rich sound.

***click my username then "view profile" to see setup***

Blu-Ray forever
:)

xbl gt: x camisado x
redlikefire02 is offline  
post #276 of 1649 Old 10-26-2007, 10:20 AM
Newbie
 
jayimsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I just need the optical toslink cable for the cable box/wii? The one HDMI output is going to handle every input device in the receiver including the optical audios?
jayimsu is offline  
post #277 of 1649 Old 10-27-2007, 04:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TiVoHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vermont
Posts: 1,561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, it's official. Anynet+ does NOT necessarily require all devices to be Samsung. I just got my Samsung 5271 TV, and Anynet+ works perfectly with my Onkyo receiver. That was really the one place that I thought the Samsung receiver might pull ahead of the Onkyo. I think, at this point I'll be returning the AS720. It pains me since it really is gorgeous, but the Onkyo is just so much more versatile.
TiVoHD is offline  
post #278 of 1649 Old 10-27-2007, 06:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
redlikefire02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anynet+ is just the name samsung gives it. HDMI CEC is the real one. anything with HDMI CEC will work w. anynet.

***click my username then "view profile" to see setup***

Blu-Ray forever
:)

xbl gt: x camisado x
redlikefire02 is offline  
post #279 of 1649 Old 10-28-2007, 04:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TiVoHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vermont
Posts: 1,561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redlikefire02 View Post

anynet+ is just the name samsung gives it. HDMI CEC is the real one. anything with HDMI CEC will work w. anynet.

That is a apparently the case. The only reason I was skeptical is that the manual clearly states that it requires that all devices be Samsung and support Anynet+. When I was looking at Sony and Panasonic TVs, their manuals said the same thing. So apparently the manufacturers just want you to think that you need to buy all of your equipment from one manufacturer.
TiVoHD is offline  
post #280 of 1649 Old 10-28-2007, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
lovemysammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please help me guys. First post!
Just hooked up everything:
-Samsung HT-AS720 (AV Reciever).
-Samsung BD-P1400 player (BD player).
-Samsung 5265 (LCD TV).
-DirecTV HR21-700 (HD-DVR, Black shiny with blue lights, oooh nice …matches the other gear!).

I've got the BluRay and the DVR into the AS720 via HDMI. Then, one HDMI from the AS720 out to the TV. That’s it.

Picture is amazing. Everything cool. Except… When I play a BluRay movie, I get no sound out of the rear speakers. The “test tone” of the AS720 works (I can hear the rear speakers)—However the test tone does not work when I do it from the BD-P1400 (no tone from rear speakers).

I’ve tried switching from bitstream and PCM, I’ve tried many different discs (I’ve got about ten BD’s here to play with) I’ve tried normal 5.1, PCM 5.1 and DTS HD. No sound from rear speakers. If I pop in a normal music CD, no problem, I get rear speaker sound.

I’ve read all the posts and searched the threads. Sorry if I’m missing something obvious. What the hell am I doing wrong?

Just want to make sure I have this all set up correct. I’m doing for my parents, and they don’t need a challenge when they drop in a movie. Thanks.

p.s. Everything is connected via HDMI 1.3 cables.
lovemysammy is offline  
post #281 of 1649 Old 10-29-2007, 12:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
redlikefire02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
check your connections from the speaker wire into the reciever. im buying thicker i think, the thin ones tend to come lose.

***click my username then "view profile" to see setup***

Blu-Ray forever
:)

xbl gt: x camisado x
redlikefire02 is offline  
post #282 of 1649 Old 10-29-2007, 12:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
redlikefire02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
also make sure its not set to sterio

***click my username then "view profile" to see setup***

Blu-Ray forever
:)

xbl gt: x camisado x
redlikefire02 is offline  
post #283 of 1649 Old 10-29-2007, 09:41 AM
Newbie
 
lovemysammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Wow I'm an idiot! I had the surround speakers hooked up to the "back surround" outputs. Never worked with a 7.1 recv before, I always called the surround speakers the "rear" or "back" channels. Duh.
lovemysammy is offline  
post #284 of 1649 Old 10-29-2007, 10:56 AM
Newbie
 
lovemysammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Red, One more question. So with my setup, am I listening to Dolby TrueHD, or DTS-HD, or whatever the hell it's called on my BluRay discs?

As you recommended, I've got the BD player set to bitstream, pcm downsampling off.

Just want to make sure I got the optimal sound I can get. Thanks man.
lovemysammy is offline  
post #285 of 1649 Old 10-29-2007, 06:23 PM
Member
 
No_Style's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Saddens me to see that this wonderful HTIB isn't coming to Canada this year.
No_Style is offline  
post #286 of 1649 Old 10-29-2007, 08:16 PM
Member
 
JDub_41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess its coming to Canada next year? Is this confirmed?

If I went over to the States and bought the HTIB over there, how does the warranty work? If anything were to happen to the system I guess I would have to bring it back to the States for service?
JDub_41 is offline  
post #287 of 1649 Old 10-29-2007, 09:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Moosebox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDub_41 View Post

I guess its coming to Canada next year? Is this confirmed?

If I went over to the States and bought the HTIB over there, how does the warranty work? If anything were to happen to the system I guess I would have to bring it back to the States for service?

I called Samsung Canada a couple weeks ago before purchasing and had these questions answers.

This HTIB 'might' come to Canada next year, but the guy wasn't sure. Though I believe it will.

Even though you bought the HTIB in the USA, it still has a full 1 year Canadian warranty from Samsung Canada.
Moosebox is offline  
post #288 of 1649 Old 10-29-2007, 10:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
bulls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
imho: that is some ugly mofo. definitely wouldve been bought by my wife if she had any say in my house.
bulls is online now  
post #289 of 1649 Old 10-29-2007, 11:34 PM
Newbie
 
stoner1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bulls View Post

imho: that is some ugly mofo. definitely wouldve been bought by my wife if she had any say in my house.


Why was that statement necessary?
stoner1 is offline  
post #290 of 1649 Old 10-30-2007, 08:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Amel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clearwater Fl
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
talking about ugly

was yesterday at circuit city, I looked at the Onkyo 605 for the first time, man that thing is bulky and ugly as hell...my local BB did not have this samsung receiver in stock tho

Blu-Ray Supporter
Amel is offline  
post #291 of 1649 Old 10-30-2007, 08:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
redlikefire02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovemysammy View Post

Thanks. Wow I'm an idiot! I had the surround speakers hooked up to the "back surround" outputs. Never worked with a 7.1 recv before, I always called the surround speakers the "rear" or "back" channels. Duh.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovemysammy View Post

Hey Red, One more question. So with my setup, am I listening to Dolby TrueHD, or DTS-HD, or whatever the hell it's called on my BluRay discs?

As you recommended, I've got the BD player set to bitstream, pcm downsampling off.

Just want to make sure I got the optimal sound I can get. Thanks man.

your welcome.

im not sure if you are listening to true HD or not. what you need to do to test that out is pop in the movie 300 (or any one with True HD or DTS HD on the back) and then hit the audio button on your 1400's remote. it will toggle it from digital 5.1 to TrueHD, etc. do this with every movie, most should do it themselves though. you will be able to tell the difference immediately.

***click my username then "view profile" to see setup***

Blu-Ray forever
:)

xbl gt: x camisado x
redlikefire02 is offline  
post #292 of 1649 Old 10-30-2007, 11:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
bulls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
b'cos of the following:

this thread started with an opinion. i stated my opinion.

whats your beef bro? or is it ma'am?
bulls is online now  
post #293 of 1649 Old 10-30-2007, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TiVoHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vermont
Posts: 1,561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amel View Post

talking about ugly

was yesterday at circuit city, I looked at the Onkyo 605 for the first time, man that thing is bulky and ugly as hell...my local BB did not have this samsung receiver in stock tho

Yup, the Samsung looks a whole lot better in my AV cabinet than the 605. I just wish they packed some of the Onkyo's features into the Samsung's chassis.
TiVoHD is offline  
post #294 of 1649 Old 10-30-2007, 05:12 PM
Member
 
JDub_41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moosebox View Post

I called Samsung Canada a couple weeks ago before purchasing and had these questions answers.

This HTIB 'might' come to Canada next year, but the guy wasn't sure. Though I believe it will.

Even though you bought the HTIB in the USA, it still has a full 1 year Canadian warranty from Samsung Canada.


Hey Moose......Does it say that in the manual? (i.e. there is 1 full year Canadian warranty from Samsung Canada)

I just need to make sure before I go and buy this (If I do buy it)

Thanks in advance.
JDub_41 is offline  
post #295 of 1649 Old 10-30-2007, 06:52 PM
Member
 
SSMiKe06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc, Canada
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I'm in the final step of making my decision.

I'd like to know about the warranty issue in Canada mentioned by Moose.

I'm a true Blu member !
SSMiKe06 is offline  
post #296 of 1649 Old 10-30-2007, 06:53 PM
Senior Member
 
saunupe1911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How good is the Samsung HT-AS720 subwoofer? Does it the make the room rumble and give plenty of bass/vibrations?
saunupe1911 is offline  
post #297 of 1649 Old 10-30-2007, 08:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
redlikefire02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by saunupe1911 View Post

How good is the Samsung HT-AS720 subwoofer? Does it the make the room rumble and give plenty of bass/vibrations?


i give it a 7.5 on average. an 8.5 when hooked into halo lol for osme reason that thing rumbles when i play it

***click my username then "view profile" to see setup***

Blu-Ray forever
:)

xbl gt: x camisado x
redlikefire02 is offline  
post #298 of 1649 Old 10-31-2007, 05:04 AM
Member
 
Chekoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by saunupe1911 View Post

How good is the Samsung HT-AS720 subwoofer? Does it the make the room rumble and give plenty of bass/vibrations?

Its very potent when watching a Blu-ray or playing a PS3 game, not much while watching TV, unless is broadcasted in 5.1 DD, I had to take down the sub volume a little bit sometimes not to wake the neighbors. I give it a 9...
Chekoman is offline  
post #299 of 1649 Old 10-31-2007, 08:39 AM
Member
 
SSMiKe06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc, Canada
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great, another point for this system and I just noticed you can expand to a 7.1 ? Anybody tried out yet to see if it works good ?

I'm a true Blu member !
SSMiKe06 is offline  
post #300 of 1649 Old 10-31-2007, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Moosebox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSMiKe06 View Post

Well, I'm in the final step of making my decision.

I'd like to know about the warranty issue in Canada mentioned by Moose.

I wouldn't call it an issue. The guy I talked to reassured me that it is covered in Canada even though the model doesn't exist here yet. Give 1-800-Samsung a call for your own reassurance, usually you aren't on hold for too long.

Plus if I remember correctly, in the manual, there is no mention of the warranty being USA only, it doesn't mention Canada either, but I'm pretty sure it's covered. I wouldn't have bought it if it wasn't.


On to another topic, I feel the sub woofer is very adequate. I don't run it at full and it still has a good presence in my room (15x14). I even had to turn it down a few times from complaints from my girlfriend.
Moosebox is offline  
Reply Home Theater In A Box

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off