DIY alternative to a Black Diamond II screen ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes

post #1 of 38 Old 06-07-2010, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a walk out basement / billiard room which will have a home theater on one end. The room will have ambient day light from the windows during the day and at night may have some from the billiard end of the room.

I was looking at the BD II line of screens but i was recently informed I could do better at a fraction of the cost if I built my own. I am new to this and will continue to read the forums but it would be very helpful if someone could point me in the right direction.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 38 Old 06-07-2010, 11:58 AM - Thread Starter

I did come across the black widow thread . Would this be a good option ? anything better ?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=994372
post #3 of 38 Old 06-07-2010, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
do a search on silver fire.
post #4 of 38 Old 06-08-2010, 07:01 AM - Thread Starter

will the silver fire reject ambiant light to the same degree ?
post #5 of 38 Old 06-08-2010, 10:31 AM
AVS Club Gold

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by snarks View Post

will the silver fire reject ambiant light to the same degree ?

Much Mo' Bedder! SILVER FIRE can be adjusted to many varied shades of Gray to accommodate the level of ambient light rejection required, yet maintain the maximum level of brightness at any given level of ambient light. Balancing the PJ's lumen output with the degree of ambient light present...and the shade of Gray chosen is the combination matching that is required.