The Official Silver Fire V.2 Thread. - Page 84 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 38Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2491 of 2503 Old 11-08-2016, 04:21 PM
Member
 
rayians's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MississippiMan View Post
OK...very strange goings on. I received this via Email Notifications but upon checking....no post....no screenies.

So, wassup wit dat?
I couldn't get a decent screen shot last time, my camera doesn't like the bright screen in the dark room and for some reason blurs every screenshot. My picture is much clearer than that 2nd pic indicates, but it does give you a representation of how bright it is and how the color pops. Keep in mind the screen is 160" and the bulb has 3,600 hours on it!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HT1.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	97.9 KB
ID:	1761073   Click image for larger version

Name:	HT2.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	100.6 KB
ID:	1761081  
rayians is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2492 of 2503 Old 11-08-2016, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter
DIY Granddad (w/help)
 
MississippiMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Byhalia, Mississippi. Waaaay down in the Bottoms
Posts: 20,625
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1661 Post(s)
Liked: 750
Take you shots from as far away as you can, and then use your Zoom to pull in to "almost" fill the image field.

Zooming will attenuate the incoming light enough for you to resolve an accurate picture.

"They said it couldn't be done. Well, we sure showed 'em otherwise!"
HAS Advanced Audio and Imaging Solutions
MississippiMan is online now  
post #2493 of 2503 Old 12-04-2016, 03:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
narhic_fd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I was at my local Lowe's today, In NC, and noticed what they had for sell:



Wonder if they are going to start carrying it again or maybe it will just be seasonal. It makes me think so since it was on an end cap and not in the actual isle.
narhic_fd is offline  
post #2494 of 2503 Old 12-04-2016, 03:27 PM - Thread Starter
DIY Granddad (w/help)
 
MississippiMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Byhalia, Mississippi. Waaaay down in the Bottoms
Posts: 20,625
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1661 Post(s)
Liked: 750
Well that at least shows some promise for those who care to use Metallic components, and who have been stressed to find it online in less than 2 Quart orders.

Lowes was one of the locations online you could order it, but they also required a 2 Quart order to do so.

Thank you for the heads up for everyone!

"They said it couldn't be done. Well, we sure showed 'em otherwise!"
HAS Advanced Audio and Imaging Solutions
MississippiMan is online now  
post #2495 of 2503 Old 12-05-2016, 11:17 AM
Member
 
gifty74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same here, just at my local Lowes and have the same 3 Metallic Accents choices. Same price (in PA).
gifty74 is offline  
post #2496 of 2503 Old 12-05-2016, 06:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
narhic_fd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm wondering though if its just a seasonal thing considering it Christmas. Then after Christmas they stop selling them. Makes me think that since they had them on an end cap and not in a spot in the Isle. Time will tell. Would sure make it more convenient for us to obtain it instead of having to order it online and wait.
narhic_fd is offline  
post #2497 of 2503 Old Today, 08:53 AM
Member
 
wreckingball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Third stone from the Sun, MI
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Hi all SF folks,
I completed my SF 96" screen back in 2011 with the help of MM and others, (under username 'liquisonic).
Some may remember, because I think I was one of the only people who used a real glass mirror for a substrate.

Last week, my sister was bored and asked if she could stop over while I was at work and help do some housekeeping/cleaning, "sure" I said.

Uh oh...

One of the things she decided to clean was my screen, and she rubbed a little too hard in one spot and now I can see a hot spot with the mirror's reflection showing, and it's right near the center...ARRGH!

So...all of the leftover ingredients I used to spray in the first place are still on a shelf in my basement. But it's 2016

Question: do I need to buy all new materials, or is it just a matter of seeing what still looks usable, or is that a crap-shoot? AND: Do I need to strip all the old paint off the old screen? (Please please, tell me I don't need to do this..)

I'm not so much worried about the common materials, but what about the metallics? and the little tubes of colored paint I got from Michael's?

Please advise. I'm already upset enough, and cannot cuss my sis out for trying to 'help' me.
Help a brother out, would ya?

Thanks
-Steve

Actually, I love tube amps..
I play guitars through them.

Last edited by wreckingball; Today at 08:57 AM.
wreckingball is offline  
post #2498 of 2503 Old Today, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Vaan Janne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 16
General question.
Does Matt laquer on top on silver worse polarisation retention ?
Vaan Janne is offline  
post #2499 of 2503 Old Today, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter
DIY Granddad (w/help)
 
MississippiMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Byhalia, Mississippi. Waaaay down in the Bottoms
Posts: 20,625
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1661 Post(s)
Liked: 750
Quote:
Originally Posted by wreckingball View Post
Hi all SF folks,
I completed my SF 96" screen back in 2011 with the help of MM and others, (under username 'liquisonic).
Some may remember, because I think I was one of the only people who used a real glass mirror for a substrate.

Last week, my sister was bored and asked if she could stop over while I was at work and help do some housekeeping/cleaning, "sure" I said.

Uh oh...

One of the things she decided to clean was my screen, and she rubbed a little too hard in one spot and now I can see a hot spot with the mirror's reflection showing, and it's right near the center...ARRGH!

So...all of the leftover ingredients I used to spray in the first place are still on a shelf in my basement. But it's 2016

Question: do I need to buy all new materials, or is it just a matter of seeing what still looks usable, or is that a crap-shoot? AND: Do I need to strip all the old paint off the old screen? (Please please, tell me I don't need to do this..)

I'm not so much worried about the common materials, but what about the metallics? and the little tubes of colored paint I got from Michael's?

Please advise. I'm already upset enough, and cannot cuss my sis out for trying to 'help' me.
Help a brother out, would ya?

Thanks
-Steve
Steve,

If the left overs have been sealed, they should be good to go with a good stir mixing. The water content will have separated, but again, that's normal.

If however there has been any "caking" where the paint has dried out, it might be necessary to start over.

Under the assumption that all is well "paint wise" (...how much is left BTW? ), then some "feathering in" around and over the affected area first (2 coats), then a couple of light dustings across the entire screen should render a "invisible" repair.

PM me if you want to discuss the repair procedure in detail over the phone.

"They said it couldn't be done. Well, we sure showed 'em otherwise!"
HAS Advanced Audio and Imaging Solutions
MississippiMan is online now  
post #2500 of 2503 Old Today, 03:08 PM - Thread Starter
DIY Granddad (w/help)
 
MississippiMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Byhalia, Mississippi. Waaaay down in the Bottoms
Posts: 20,625
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1661 Post(s)
Liked: 750
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaan Janne View Post
General question.
Does Matt laquer on top on silver worse polarisation retention ?
Yes.

"They said it couldn't be done. Well, we sure showed 'em otherwise!"
HAS Advanced Audio and Imaging Solutions
MississippiMan is online now  
post #2501 of 2503 Old Today, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Vaan Janne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by MississippiMan View Post
Yes.
Ok. I thought so.
I had some aluminium flakes lying around, i thought id give them a go, i did used binder + solvent with the flakes. You can ques what i got...ha some gain. I did not yet check out hows the polarisation.
But the gain is too much ill bett.
Well i don't need nessiserely polarization as i Also have omega filtters but i would like to use my polarizers Also so.

You could send pm offer on materials for great polarization screen.
Ihave about 5 square meter of canvas. 3m x 1.7m
With international shipping to Finland.

Hope they are waterbased, hot solvents not supported by my sprayer Graco easymax wpII (true coat pro II)
Vaan Janne is offline  
post #2502 of 2503 Old Today, 04:36 PM
Member
 
wreckingball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Third stone from the Sun, MI
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
(...how much is left BTW? )
Over 1/2 to 2/3rds of the quart-size stuff, but damn near all of the Michael's paste colors, like 70-80-%.

Just to be on the safe side, and because it wasn't that much, I'm thinkin' I'll just pick up new Behr.

I think I got this, but may PM you for further consultation, we'll see...

Cheers
-Steve

Actually, I love tube amps..
I play guitars through them.
wreckingball is offline  
post #2503 of 2503 Old Today, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter
DIY Granddad (w/help)
 
MississippiMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Byhalia, Mississippi. Waaaay down in the Bottoms
Posts: 20,625
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1661 Post(s)
Liked: 750
Steve,

I enjoyed going back a reading all your posts on a couple different threads, from 2007 forward to 2012.

I can peruse through Threads very quickly...it's something I've done since the beginning.

Don't overthink the situation, or do any more than necessary. Nothing you remake will stand as close a chance at matching up to the existing coating as what you already have...and it seems you easily have enough.

Stir is slowly but well, and if it needs more water, add it in 2 oz increments.

BTW...what HVLP do you still have? What size Needle?

Oh Bother...

I just realized you've been saying you only have the separate components. Well yeah...call me and let me help you out by setting you up with the Colorant part.

"They said it couldn't be done. Well, we sure showed 'em otherwise!"
HAS Advanced Audio and Imaging Solutions
MississippiMan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Screen Section



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off