First Time Poster - First Time Builder - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 08-31-2012, 12:40 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all!

After having been scouring through these forums off and on for the last several years, I've finally bitten the bullet and am looking to build my first screen. I have an Epson HC 720 that for three years has been projecting on a gross, bumpy, off-white drywall in a room with uncontrollable light. Even with all that, I've loved the projector experience!

I'm moving to a new place and we're installing blackout curtains and I've been given the wife-ly mandate - build a screen if we're keeping the projector. I'm looking for something that is lightweight and movable (the apartment is a rental - but we are allowed to screw in); but still has good image quality. I work in the film industry and a big part of the upgrade is to feel better about inviting over co-workers for the multiple requisite movie nights.

Initially I was thinking a BOC screen, velvet frame, and some form of handle-coat hook mount (which would be great for me as it's removable), but with all I've been reading on the various substrate boards, I'm now terrifically confused. I'm leaning towards a Do-Able or Wilsonart Deluxe White, but not sure whether either will be as light as a BOC board (or close); and which will work best with some ambient light.

The important things to me are -
a) Don't want to paint. Just not yet! I have a limited time frame to put the screen together.
b) Lightweight - I don't want to damage the apartment we're using within days of moving in!
c) Last but certainly not least - performance! Ideally it works decently in ambient light situations, but it's not the end of the world. We HAVE been projecting on a white drywall, afterall.

Any help you can offer would be great! I live in the Los Angeles area if it helps for material availability.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement