Dark + Ambient light use screen for JVC DLA-HD250 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 80 Old 11-26-2012, 05:35 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey Guys/Gals

Since I couldn't find an intro section on this website, I just wanted to say that I'm a new member from Ottawa, Ontario. This is my first time getting into decent home theater equipment. I have spent probably over 30 hours reading in the last two weeks and have learned a lot about avr, projectors and screens. I was hesitant to make this thread because I don't want to repeat the same questions but I'm at a lost.

Previously I had been using LG 37 720P LCD and Logitech z-5500 speakers as a student.

Anyways that aside I have purchased a JVC DLA-HD250.

I'm looking for the following in a screen.
1) 110-120"
2) Solid substrate that is easy to acquire
3) I don't mind using a custom paint formula

Usage Scenarios: Basement room with 2 windows
1) Night time movie watching in darkness - should be very little ambient lights -40% Most important
2) Night time Video gaming - Willing to sacrifice some quality here- Willing to sacrifice some quality here
3) Evening/afternoon watching with some light from windows- 20% - this is the least important scenario

Room:
1) ~14ft x ~30
2) viewing distance I'll probably use SMPTE
3) I plan to add BOC to the windows

I read the DIY sticky but couldn't decide, I was recommended that I should go for a gray screen but what kind and what formula/substrate?

Thank you guys in advance

I'll get pictures of the space once I get a chance.

What I'm leaving behind

Pic of wall From seating position

Windows

Entire room

Dec 6th 2012

Added some fabric to the currently untreated wall. I can't tell if it made any difference. Maybe my eyes are just crappy. Still the room needs a lot of work. The carpet is very reflective.

Before fabric

Picture of Fabric

After fabric

December 16 2012 update