How Do i determine the length of wood to use ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 25 Old 01-07-2013, 02:44 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to know what length of wood i should get as i'm new to building screens and such. Any help will be highly appreciated.

I bought some BOC fabric thats about 58"x100"

This is the frame i plan to build

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 01-08-2013, 06:09 AM

Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
If you are following the instructions above you will be stapling the cloth to the front of the frame so you should build the frame to the dimensions of your BOC, namely 58"x100". This allows for a 2" border all around giving a finished screen size of 110" diagonally (96"x 54") as you show above. If you opt for a 3" or 4" border it will extend beyond the dimensions of the frame by 1" or 2" respectively. This is useful if you want to install led rope lighting if you want a backlit "frame".
post #3 of 25 Old 01-08-2013, 07:38 AM - Thread Starter

Ok thanks for your help Going to check out the wood at my local Home Depot
post #4 of 25 Old 01-08-2013, 12:49 PM

I made a 2.35:1 screen, 121 inches wide, about 51" tall. I used two vertical braces spaced evenly apart so I ended up cutting 4 vertical pieces all the same height (in this case 51 less the thickness of my board). I used 1x4 pine. Took awhile to find decent pieces that weren't warped or twisted.
post #5 of 25 Old 01-08-2013, 01:17 PM

Liked: 12
The way I am doing it is like this: Say I want a 106" screen. The dimensions are 92.5 X 52. I want to put a 2" border on all sides. What I do is add 2 to both 92.5 and 52. So the frame should be 94.5 X 54. Then when the border goes on, the dimensions will be perfect.
post #6 of 25 Old 01-08-2013, 03:06 PM
AVS Club Gold

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Singh007 View Post