New DIY Screen build for Optoma HD33 (134") - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 01-23-2013, 04:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Long time lurker, first time poster here. I am completely new to the Projector and home theater world and have been reading on this forum quite a lot of information from the experts. But it feels like drinking from a fire hose with the amount of information that is out there.

I am building a home theater room in my house. The room is 13' x 20' with cathedral ceilings (going from 10' to 15'), white walls, white ceiling and a lot of windows on one of the walls (the 20' wall).

Equipment/ Gear:
1. Projector : Optoma HD33 (will be ceiling mounted). 1800 lumens and I will be using the 3D feature.
2. Reciever: Onkyo NR818
3. Speakers: Energy Take 5.1 and 2 additional bookshelfs to make a 7.1 system.

Currently there is a lot of ambient light coming in because of the windows, which are not covered with any window treatments. In next phase of my project (probably next year) I will cover the windows with treatments that have BOC backing. The next phase will also include painting the room and the ceiling a darker color to have a better perceived contrast.

What I am thinking:
The primary purpose of the room will be 60% TV, 30% Movies, 10% games. I will also use the
With all the information I read, I am leaning towards a 6mm Sintra to be framed (black border) and installed on the wall which is 13' wide.
I am also planning to use every piece of the available real estate and hence I will use the "Super wide" feature of the Optoma HD33 to project a 2:1 image on a 10'x5' Sintra.
This project will be done over the course of next couple of months, as I am going to get a handyman to help me with running the speaker wires through the walls, Projector mounting etc.

Still to purchase:
1. No Name Sprayer
2. Paint for the Sintra and the tools required to go with the painting.