Building my first DIY 120 inch screen - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 03-09-2013, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys,

First of all I'm a total noob at building frames/screen material, however, I've been reading a lot of posts on the forum to try and learn.

I am buying the new optoma hd25/hd131x which are the same but in different color, and I am wandering what is the best solution for the screen material.
I stumbled upon this great DIY screen : http://www.avsforum.com/t/1303114/amazing-grace-theater-build
he used Wilsonart Designer White Laminate as the actual screen, but I saw other options as well:
I saw a couple of da-lite fabrics that were recommended: high power with 2.4 gain, costs at http://www.avoutlet.com 15 dollars per square foot, Cinema Vision with 1.3 gain that costs 6.2 per square foot
I also saw an option to buy a spray can and spray a special paint on the wall.

Can someone PLEASE help me sort this out?

Thanks for any help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 03-09-2013, 02:08 PM
AVS Club Gold

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 213
How big of a screen do you want?

Is this to be a Screen /PJ combo for a dedicated Theater or a Family Room Theater?

Do you want exceptional results from a Screen that cost less than any option you mentioned? (...except the painted screen...)'

The Optoma HD25 is an insanely bright PJ. There is no way you should be considering any screen with a 2.0+ gain factor.

To quote James T. Kirk;
"I'm laughing at the superior intellect"
post #3 of 14 Old 03-09-2013, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter

Hi MississippiMan,

I want a screen size of around 120 inch, I have 2.75-2.8 meters width available.
It is not a dedicated room in a way I see people build; with painted walls and ceiling, but on the other hand, when movies will be played, there will be an almost complete darkness.