Converting a front projection to a rear projection screen - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 03-17-2013, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Newbie here. I am setting up a Benq W1070 in my living room and initially bought a 125" front projection screen (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000Q87LM6) for the display. However, I later realized that mounting the projector in the front considerably compromised aesthetics (WAF) because the ceiling is vaulted and there would be a long mounting rod (more than 3 ft)
from the ceiling to the projector (the top of the screen will be aligned to the lowest point of the vaulted ceiling). Fortunately, I realized that I could set up the projector in the breakfast nook right behind the living room (the nook is big enough to accommodate the throw of the projector). The screen is supposed to hang between the living room and the nook and supposed to recesses into the ceiling (there is an attic above). The breakfast nook doesn't have vaulted ceilings so WAF is much higher. However, I now need to use a rear projection screen instead of the front projection screen that I have already bought.