Looking for some advice - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 07-08-2013, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings all,

I am new to the home theater game but have inherited a hand me down theater from the previous owner of the house (if you could call it a theater...way out of date!!) My best friend is all in to HT and after picking his brain he sent me here (probably so he doesn't have to deal with me)

So I am looking to remodel the room and have two old 720 projectors. I have been poking around AVS for a bit and am curious about DIY screens. Now I am wicked handy so building them is no issue. So here's what I'm curious about:

1-Which is better Spandex or Formica or....something else; cost being relative

2-Color of material...this will mainly be used to watch football....and yes Cinderella (2yr daughter)

3-Is spandex acoustically transparent enough to place speakers behind it.

Thanks ahead of time-

Charlee0620
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 07-09-2013, 05:30 AM
AVS Club Gold

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Charlee0620,

Welcome aboard!

Now get to work, scrubbin' the Deck!

That is to say, take a look at the Thread Board (1st two pages), and you'll find threads on all your questions.

Quick and dirty answers won't do you much good unless they are based on information

One thing that is always important and helpful....you need to provide as much information as possible about your situation / circumstances.

• What type PJs do you have / plan on using.
  • How many hours on the Lamps, and / or do you plan to replace a lamp on the one chosen and start fresh?
  • Describe the Theater's room colors (walls / ceiling / floor)
  • Seating position
  • Desired Screen size