New To The Projector World, Need Suggestions On Set Up - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 08-23-2013, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just moved into a new house and I'm in the process of finishing the basement. In considering what type of TV to get, I thought bigger is always better, so why not go with a projector. My thought was to buy a projector, mount it to the ceiling, paint the wall white, and then probably by some trim, paint it black, and frame my painted area. So, here are my questions:
1. What type of projector should I get? I want 1080p, but I want to keep my cost at or around $1,000.
2. What do I use to paint the screen? I saw some "goo" but it was crazy expensive. Any suggestions on paint brand?
3. I'm new to this whole projector thing, any tips, suggestions, pointers or things I should know or should avoid?

Thanks for the help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 08-23-2013, 01:11 PM
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 75
#1 - Go read here: http://www.avsforum.com/f/68/digital-projectors-under-3-000-usd-msrp
#2 - This is the right forum to ask this question. Someone will answer but you should do some reading as well.
#3 - Same as #1.

After reading some you'll get an idea for the questions that need to be answered and the information that has to be provided to get the best help around here. You are approaching this right by asking the questions before you get started. Proper planning goes a long way towards a successful setup.

READ, READ, READ... then read some more.

Welcome to the forums!

post #3 of 3 Old 08-24-2013, 03:06 AM
AVS Club Gold

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 241
If the OP / TS wants to avoid a brain numbing experience, he can "One Stop" right here.