Building my first home theater, and need help on screen - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 09-03-2013, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I been interested in building a home theater for some time now(about a year), but it was only recently that I found out about DIY screens. At first I only heard about blackout cloth, mainly from Carl's place. But then when searching on blackout cloth I came across several threads in this forum and some talked about painting the cloth or Sintra etc. I was of course very interested and had curiosity, and now being a total noob, have a few questions about different types of screens and what is the best for my conditions.

The home theater will be in my basement, which unfortunately has a low ceiling, but has total light control, I can make it pitch black when I want to. The walls are white and the ceiling is black...I got the house like this and cannot paint the walls. Due to columns I can only place the home theater in one area. the projector can be at max 14ft and half from the screen. (planning on making a 110" screen 16:9). So those are my current conditions, so that might help answering my questions.

1. In my current conditions, would there be a dramatic difference between a regular blackout cloth and a painted Sintra. One that would make the extra cost worth while.

2. If it is worth while to do the painted Sintra board, which paint mixture would be best and where can I get a Sintra board in Louisville, Kentucky.

3. would the projecter screen even make a difference with my projector,(planning on getting an 8350) basically is the projector good enough to warrant a painted Sintra board.