DIY paint on existing projector screen? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 12 Old 11-26-2013, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

Apologies if this is a silly question, I'm quite new to this whole DIY scene.

I am currently renting and so can't really hang up a ready-made screen on the wall, but what I did instead was buy a 92inch Optoma pull up screen, specifically the DP-9092MWL, which has a gain of 1.0. Because my Benq W7000 doesn't do deep blacks, I was thinking I could do with a high contrast screen and maybe something like a gain of 0.8 to get deeper blacks and bump up the contrast.

My question is though, can I directly apply the DIY paint to the Optoma screen without adverse results? That would be the easiest way I guess to get the contrast ratio up without spending a fortune.

Thank you for your kind replies!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 11-26-2013, 10:43 AM
AVS Club Gold

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by fragfeaster777 View Post

Hi all,

Apologies if this is a silly question, I'm quite new to this whole DIY scene.

I am currently renting and so can't really hang up a ready-made screen on the wall, but what I did instead was buy a 92inch Optoma pull up screen, specifically the DP-9092MWL, which has a gain of 1.0. Because my Benq W7000 doesn't do deep blacks, I was thinking I could do with a high contrast screen and maybe something like a gain of 0.8 to get deeper blacks and bump up the contrast.

My question is though, can I directly apply the DIY paint to the Optoma screen without adverse results? That would be the easiest way I guess to get the contrast ratio up without spending a fortune.

Thank you for your kind replies!

Yes....painting onto a Mfg screen is very "do-able".

Read this Thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1432177/painting-onto-a-106-tab-tensioned-screen-with-silver-fire-v2-5-4-0