DIY Laminate Screen with Aluminum Frame, TOTAL NOOB - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 35 Old 12-11-2013, 06:54 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is my DIY Laminate Screen Build, i am total noob. If i can do it, you can do it! Here is my step by step

Ordered Wilson art Designer White Laminate 5x10 feet sheet, had it cut for $12 to 61x107 inches. (although they say 5 feet, its actually 61 inch)

Ordered 80/20 aluminum frame to the above specs.

Frame just arrived today. Here are pics.

All i can say is wow! 80/20 frame was very easy to put together. Took about 20 minutes tops. would highly recommend. Last pic just was me checking to see and crossing my fingers that I had measured and had everything cut correctly and it all matched up perfectly!

Attached Velcro to outer frame today. Industrial Strength only comes in 2inchx 15ft which was a bit annoying to cut down to 1 inch strips. At first i getting really picky about making it perfectly 1 inch, but realized that a little imperfection likely isn't going to matter. Had enough to go around the frame, but will need to go back to get another roll to velcro the inner supports unless you all think I don't need to. Picture below:

attached velcro to back of laminate. I did end up velcroing the center supports as well although this is not shown in picture. It was bowing a lot without it and feel like this has tamed it down a bit.

Miter cut base moulding, wrapped in velvet using MM instructions on his thread, feel like it turned out pretty nice! we then put the trim together with L brackets, and then put it under the laminate/frame.