cheap white hardboard screen found at lowes and homedepot - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 12-18-2013, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

hello all im new to all of this and ive been reading a lot of posts on here regarding making your own screens using the 1/8 inch hardboard with one side being white and painting them with some special paint..my question im asking is there just a cheap flat white paint i could use instead of mixing up a special blend of paints thats readily available that would give me decent results? im not looking for stellar performance but looking for something decent on a cheap budget since i live in a apartment.. thanks for your help.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-18-2013, 12:33 PM
DIY Grand Dad (w/help)

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Welcome aboard bigec,

Glad to have you join us on the DIY Screen Forum!

Of course there are "Off The Shelf" (OTS) Paints to consider....and most will provide "decent" if not better results than you might expect. However much depends upon the condition of the surface you paint onto, as well as how good of a job painting you can do, either rolling or spraying.

But will a "Cheap" paint get you to a Happy Place? perhaps...if you don't know what constitutes "decent results".

Provide some more info for us to consider.

PJ type.
Screen size.
PJ's mounting location and distance to the Screen.
Rooms lighting situation when viewing content.
Seating distance from screen.
Room dimensions. Ceiling height and the distance from the sides of the screen to any right angled wall being very important.

Lastly, how "Cheap" is cheap....budget-wise?
bigec likes this.

To quote James T. Kirk;
"I'm laughing at the superior intellect"

http://www.invisiblestereo.com
Old 12-18-2013, 01:15 PM - Thread Starter