Help! DIY 120" SilveFire v2.5 3.0 Screen - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 11 Old 06-18-2014, 10:22 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Help! DIY 120" SilveFire v2.5 3.0 Screen

I'll just start off by stating this is my first build!

I just purchased a HD25e and plan to use it in a room with some ambient light. After reading through many posts (especially by MM), I believe that the best approach would be to use a DIY screen with FlexiWhite and painted with SilverFire v2.5 3.0.

I already purchased the screen (actually Carl's BOC, but I am choosing to return that based on a previous post of painting BOC vs. FlexiWhite), Triple Plush Black Velvet through SY and all the materials to paint the screen.

Even after reading all these posts, I am still a little puzzled on how to properly spray the SF to the screen (i.e how many coats, when to do it as part of building the screen, etc). I know this probably depends on what type of frame I choose, which leads me to my next question.

I really like the Zero Edge look (and as thin as possible) and would like to try and recreate it as much as possible. I found the awesome screen MM posted here, but not sure if it would really apply to the FlexiWhite material I already purchased:

LED Edge Lit Zero Edge Comeuppance - 110" diagonal Silver Fire 3.0

I would like this screen to be portable, so affixing 2x4's to the wall is not ideal. Instead I would like to have the frame removable and hung with something like the Hangman picture hangers. I don't mind having a thin bezel (something like the 10mm borders the Zero Edge products use). I was thinking of perhaps building a frame similar to what is shown on Carl's website:

http://www.carlofet.com/build-your-o...jector-screen/