Looking for screen and mounting recommendations for first projector - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old Today, 02:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking for screen and mounting recommendations for first projector

I purchased a Benq w1070 yesterday. It's my first projector and will have to do for a couple years until I can ultimately buy my dream projector - a JVC. I originally planned to make a sliding DIY mount as a poor-man's hack for CIH and build an AT screen, using Seymour Center Stage XD, since you can have them pre-install grommets.

Unfortunately I don't have time to build a sliding ceiling mount or even a DIY frame for an AT screen. What can I buy right now that's fast & easy (and cheap) to get a working system. I absolutely love building things but I have 3 kids, 1 dog, 1 cat, 1 turtle, plus I'm in the middle of a subwoofer project. I saw MississippiMan mention Carl's Place. Those kits look like they can be assembled in a couple hours - almost seems like cheating.

Here's my setup:

- Benq w1070 - mostly scope movies, some 16:9 moves, Game of Thrones.
- Seating distance flexible
- No 4k
- Yes on 3D
- Small to midsize screen is fine (obviously the bigger the better). I'm coming from a 46 Panasonic plasma, so a even small screen will be a huge shock to the family, and also give me something to look forward to when we later get a JVC with an truly huge screen.